Reviews for professors for BIOM301

Professor Information Review
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A+
Anonymous 12/09/2020
Dr. Hakenkamp was probably the MOST accommodating professor I've had at UMD. She had all of her lectures recorded online in case you couldn't attend them, she had a grade buffer on the quizzes and discussion, making it really easy to get a good grade. If you complete the quizzes, discussion, and watch the lectures, this class is an easy A. And the final is optional, which is an added bonus since I would guess most students in the class had an A- at the very least by the end of the semester.
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
Anonymous 02/11/2016
Dr. Hakenkamp was an awesome professor. I took her class over winter break because I had to drop BStat with a W or I was going to fail. I suck at math, but she's a great teacher. Biom301 over winter break is the easiest thing i've ever done at UMD. Her homework assignments are fast, mostly true and false questions. Our final exam was optional if you wanted to boost your grade. If you need a super easy math or stat class take this with her
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
Anonymous 08/23/2013
She's pretty goofy, but you can tell she is obviously into the material. Her tests were reasonable, but often she'd throw on questions that were really backwards to confuse us. I hated that. I wish she would test us on the material and not try to confuse us. You have to read every word of her test questions and expect her to be tricking you. Overall, class is meh.
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
ocon 04/22/2013
she knows exactly how to teach the course, so just do what she says and you can't go wrong
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
Anonymous 01/17/2013
Not a hard class, but you do have to put in some work if you want to get an A, and not an A-. There are 4 exams and a final, along with online quizzes, discussion assignments, and a group project (which was fairly easy). The final is optional, so try and do well on the exams, which aren't too hard. Hakenkamp is a pretty boring lecturer, but she does give you quite a few resources to draw from--all lecture powerpoints are posted online, and most of her lecture audio was recorded and posted online as well in case you missed a class. She also posts practice exam questions and practice exams as well, so if you do all of those you should be in good shape for the exams. All in all, not a bad class, if you like statistics in general then you'll probably like this class.
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A-
ohaider 12/23/2012
like the previous reviewer said, it's not a super easy class; it's just not as hard as other 300 level science classes, for example. You need to put in the work for the grade. In case you wanted to know, the final was about the same difficulty as the 4 midterms, but you should try your best not to have to take it and just score well on the midterms.
Christine Hakenkamp
erika_14 12/19/2012
Discussion brings up your grade so you have to go. Definately do all the quizzes and discussion assignments. Hakenkamp got really old to me during the first month. First she was okay but then I started to hate her. She spoke too fast and no one paid attention in class. You can't really take notes during class, you have to take time to review the powerpoints in your own time. Her exams are easy - if you study reasonable amount you could get at least a B easily. Their is a group project - seriously she doesn't want a lot of effort into it - my group put a lot of effort and our result was a B because one of our sections was too long. Take BIOM301 only because its an easy A, not because of reviews about Hakenkamp
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/11/2012
This really isnt that hard of a course and its not that much work. Theres a discussion weekly where you have to do an assignment, and a quiz every week. They're pretty easy. Theres a research assignment at the end that you do as a group which is pretty easy. 4 exams, 150 each, final is optional. pretty easy if you study. teacher isnt bad, but she just reads from the ppt. I stopped going to class after the first couple weeks and still did fine on the tests. just read the slides before you take the test.
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/03/2012
This class isn't difficult, and its not a ton of work. Attendance is required for discussion. Weekly discussion homework and online quizzes, but she drops the lowest. 4 in class exams--true/false is usually the hardest part of the exams. She likes true/false questions. There's a group project worth the same as an exam. The groups are large, so its not a ton of work individually. She runs through lecture very quickly each time, so you are usually done early, but its almost impossible to keep up with her for notes. Almost all the info you need is on the slides, which she uploads. She also tries to record and upload lectures.
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting a B+
Anonymous 06/08/2012
pretty easy class. first exam is the easiest so make sure you do really good on it. it gets a bit tricker for the next exams. final is optional and i don't recommend taking it. she speeds through lectures so you always get out early. she always seems to be in a rush but she is helpful in office hours
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
rose11 01/24/2012
This course is a breeze. I took it over winter break which I highly recommend if you have the opportunity. Dr. Hakenkamp is great, she is very bubbly and nice and I enjoyed having her as a professor. There were three exams for the class, but since I took it over winter break there was no final, just three noncumulative exams. There are also discussion assignments, which you can usually get 100% on. I had Melissa as my TA, and she was awesome. And there are online homework assignments/quizzes. The material is not too difficult. There are a lot of equations and statistical tests, but you are given a cheat sheet for each exam that includes all the formulas you will need. Spend a decent amount of time studying and you will get an A.
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
800meters 12/15/2011
This class is easy as heck. Just study the powerpoints, and you can essentially skip all the classes. If you took AP Statistics in high school, then you will realize that this is essentially all of the same material. I pretty much had to study a night or two before each mid-term, and I did well. You get lots of easy points by doing discussion worksheets and ELMS quizzes. You have the option of not taking the final if you did well enough on the mid-terms and are satisfied with your scores.
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an AB
PossePrincess 03/09/2011
It was impossible to take notes in this class. The powerpoints were too long and she went too quickly for it to be possible. The material is not particularly difficult, but you'll probably learn the best by doing practice problems out of the book, and by going to discussion. There are good examples provided in the slides though, so they are a good reference for when you're doing any of the assignments.
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
Anonymous 01/06/2011
Dr. Hakenkamp teaches at a lightning fast speed which can be frustrating for those who are not great with math. However she does provide a lot of resources to help students succeed and she is available outside of lecture. Going to discussion is crucial to passing this course. Almost all assignments are completed during discussion. The class is easier to take during the winter session because there is no research project and tests are given closer together when the information is fresh in your mind.
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting a C
Anonymous 09/02/2010
Do go to discussion...and also study very very well for her exams, they can be tricky..and do well in the online quizzes..there is a group project that can also help your grade do well in everything and good luck with the final..it was def tricky..overall she was an okay teacher the final exam messed me up :(
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting a B
Anonymous 03/02/2010
Professor was not up to par. Too many slides to articulate basic information. Wording was tricky on the weekly quiz and true false questions. Its not hard.. she just makes it really annoying!
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/28/2008
Very nice professor. exams are straightforward: problems are easy but multiple choice can be tricky. discussion is easy but mandatory. project is easy but a pain.
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/27/2008
I had two courses about statistics before this one and she was the best stat professor. She keeps it simple but fun and relevant, which is hard to do with statistics. The exams are challenging, the labs are good practice, and the project is a lot of fun. Go to class, go to labs, and practice for exams should get you an A.
Christine Hakenkamp
Expecting an A
ksmith1987 01/05/2008
This is a basic stats class applied to biology. The first test is literally about mean, median and mode which makes it pretty easy. It gets a little harder from then on but as long as you go to most of the classes and do the work in discussion it shouldnt be too bad. There is one group project and as with all group projects you may get stuck with people that dont quite carry their weight, but even so the project isnt too bad and she grades them fairly easily. As long as you look over the notes and look at her examples and practice exams it should be an easy class.