Reviews for PHYS171

Information Review
Christopher Palmer
PHYS171

Expecting a B-
Anonymous
12/01/2022
Didn't really do a good job of explaining material. Just did his lectures through power points. Is very annoying about attendance 10-15% of your grade. Won't really tell you what to expect on exams and his written homework consists of 15+ questions. He is a nice guy tho and he just started teaching so maybe he'll get better over time. Overall I would go with another professor.
Kara Hoffman
PHYS171

Expecting an A+
Anonymous
05/16/2022
Her TA is the only reason I’m surviving this class. She missed our last final review session and was unable to coordinate a sub. Very nonchalant about the worries or successes of her students
Kara Hoffman
PHYS171

Expecting an A
Anonymous
05/06/2022
Extremely inconsiderate and completely devoid of any empathy. Lectures were boring and monotonous, and there’s lots of homework (it’s all hard.) would not recommend even though I currently have an A in the class.
Kara Hoffman
PHYS171

Expecting an A
Anonymous
05/06/2022
Dr. Hoffman is one of those professors who is a wonderful person and a great scientist but not a stellar teacher. My main quibble is that she teaches off of slides but reads them word for word, without adding much during lecture. She often struggles to convey what she wants to say as well. If I hadn’t taken AP Physics in high school, I doubt I would’ve done nearly as well in her class. That said, she truly cares about her students and I personally thought that her exams were quite good for a physics course.
Christopher Palmer
PHYS171

Expecting an A
Anonymous
12/27/2021
Did a decent job of explaining material, was relatively understanding with students. Was kind of annoying about attendance and the grading on homework was unnecessarily weighted towards minor details like whether you remembered to write 'conservation of energy' and stuff like that IMO. But I can see the logic behind it.
Rajarshi Roy
PHYS171

Expecting an A
Anonymous
11/16/2019
Great & friendly, def recc talking in class bc he's nice and does fun demos
Rajarshi Roy
PHYS171

Expecting an A
Anonymous
05/31/2019
His reviews can get a bit dry sometimes because he reads straight from the book and covers the easy material slowly but the difficult material quickly, but he's a very approachable and nice guy, and he always treats his students with respect.
Ki-Yong Kim
PHYS171

Anonymous
05/16/2012
He is one of the worst teachers I have ever had. When he is teaching he makes too many mistakes in his equations and does not give good explanations. The book is twice the teacher he is. You must have the book required because that is where you actually will learn. Do not get this professor.