Reviews for professors for JOUR150

Professor Information Review
Sohana Nasrin
Anonymous 12/09/2020
Super super nice and understandable. She was consistently checking in on her students to make sure we were doing okay. The course load was light and the material is interesting.
Edward Alwood
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/05/2020
very sweet professor - lectures were recorded, but he showed them during a live zoom meeting to stay interactive with students; grades are basically determined off of a couple tests and 3 2-page essays, which honestly are pretty easy; if you put even a bit of effort in this class you will pass with a good grade since everyone else barely puts any effort in
Edward Alwood
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 05/20/2020
he is a very knowledgable and caring professor. the essays are easy, but you will need to memorize a lot for the exams. overall a great choice for an easy gen-ed
Edward Alwood
Expecting an A
Anonymous 05/08/2020
If you have the chance to take this professor, do it. He is the most caring, sweet, and understanding man you will ever meet. The workload in this class is extremely minimal, with only 4 essays (that are only a page each), and 3 mid-term exams. The only thing is you have to do somewhat well on those because thats your only grade besides attendance. I wish I could take this class again, I learned so much from him.
Denitsa Yotova
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/20/2019
JOUR150 was an online class for me. Yotova graded assignments promptly and fairly, gave good and constructive feedback, and responded to student messages super quickly. Was a good gen-ed class. However, there is a pretty standardized and heavy workload!
Ronald Yaros
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 05/05/2015
AWESOME CLASS. I know nothing about Journalism and am horrible with technology so it was a very challenging class in my opinion. This being said, Professor Yaros is always willing to help. He wants you to do well and he is very quick at responding to e-mails. He is an incredible professor. Highly recommended
Ronald Yaros
Expecting an A
Anonymous 04/24/2013
Best class I've taken at Maryland. You get graded on blogging, using Twitter, and shooting video on an iPod which is provided for the course (or you can use your iPhone). No tests, just writing, so if you like to write this class is great. You learn a lot about modern journalism. Take this class and get an easy A.
Ronald Yaros
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 01/30/2013
I loved class with Yaros, the whole class is general is very much based on technology so be prepared for that! I loved using twitter, blogspot, my phone and laptop specifically for the class. Final project seems like it will be a pain but he grades fairly as long as you do whatever it asks. He lets students borrow macbooks and itouchs to do assignments. Fun time!
Ronald Yaros
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/01/2011
Professor Yaros is amazing. He is very knowledgeable in this subject. He really has a passion for what he teaches. He seems to care much more about his students actually learning things opposed to "grades." He grades leniently and fairly. I definitely recommend this class.