Reviews for professors for WMST250

Professor Information Review
Taylor York
Expecting an A+
Anonymous 04/20/2021
Taylor is an excellent professor. Very caring and understanding and would often offer extensions on assignments without us even asking. You can tell they really care about the material and despite the class being online, Taylor made an effort to make discussions engaging and meaningful. The assignments were not difficult at all if you watched the lectures and went to discussions and I honestly found them enjoyable to do. If you're looking for an easy but interesting Gen-Ed definitely take WMST 250 with Professor York!!
Taylor York
Expecting an A+
Anonymous 03/25/2021
Great teacher with interesting discussions.
Rahma Haji
Anonymous 02/22/2021
This class is easy but very frustrating because it's one of those courses that are an absolute waste of your time. Professor Haji is nice but she does not seem to know what she is talking about during lectures, or at least she is not very good at explaining things because you won't understand anything even when you are paying attention. She is disorganized and not very efficient, making inconsistent mistakes every week, confusing the students. A student asked if she could make a modules page or label the discussions with a prompt, but she made up an excuse saying she was unable to because she doesn't have a TA. This is a task my 60 year old biology professor could do. One more thing is the content of this class. Even though you are signing up for "women's studies," she only focuses on the study of African Americans and has almost no diversity in its topics. But if you are looking for an easy A with minimal work(usually busy work), and you don't care about the content or wasting your time, this is the class for you.
Sarah Scriven
Expecting an A+
Anonymous 01/23/2021
goat
Taylor York
Expecting an A+
Anonymous 01/13/2021
They are the best professor I've ever had. So caring and understanding. 10/10 would recommend. The class is slight just participate and do the assignments.
Jocelyn Coates
Expecting an A+
Anonymous 12/09/2020
I LOVE her! She's so passionate and knowledgeable about the material and it really motivates you to learn and get excited about the material as well. She's super flexible and chill and the class is really structured to focus on learning instead of the grades. If you're confused about one of the readings she's really good at summarizing and explaining it to you. My favorite professor at UMD so far.
Jocelyn Coates
Expecting an A+
Anonymous 10/19/2020
Best, kindest, and most understanding professor ever. She’s literally so sweet and classes are like everyday conversations so it’s pretty simple. Just do the readings, they can be long sometimes but discussions help to formulate your thoughts about it especially hearing from others. If oh are confused about something, she will explain it very well and politely.
Amira Lundy-Harris
Expecting an A
Anonymous 08/28/2020
This class, in my opinion, was very easy going. When i took him in fall 2019, he was pretty chill and allowed students to call him Amira or Professor Amira and etc because he was still a doctoral student and not an actual doctor yet. Class consisted of coming in and discussing the readings assigned to us for that day. Some readings are long and some are short. On some nights you could have two but i just skimmed because there were no quizzes in class. He just asked the class questions about our readings and wrote down important points from the text onto the board. Sometimes there would be class discussions where you pair off and talk about a certain topic and be asked to share with the class. Also, at the end of class on some days we'd be asked to write a little reflection about what we learned or what we found to be interesting from the readings. I don't think the reflections were graded. The only real exam was our midterm which consisted mainly of multiple-choice questions about some of the texts we've been reading. The midterm wasn't that hard because i took some basic notes from previous readings and looked over them instead of rereading long passages. For the final he had us choose an album by a singer of our choice and write an essay about why our specific album should be considered a feminist album. Idk if the guy even looked at it because i never got a grade for my final. if you don't want to work a lot and would like a stress free class go with Amira.
Amira Lundy-Harris
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 05/11/2020
Amira was a caring professor. He really would take the time to help out his students. That being said, this is a good (easy) DSHU Gen-Ed so you probably won't need help. There were weekly readings, class discussions and very few out of class assignments. The readings were interesting so it barely felt like work. There was supposed to be a midterm but when we moved online he didn't make us take it. The required museum trip was fun and the term paper was manageable if you started early enough. Would recommend this class if you're looking for an easy Gen-Ed or to learn some interesting history of the women's art movement.
Michelle Rowley
Expecting a B-
Anonymous 01/15/2020
Tough grader, would look for another professor. All the projects are fairly simple so she’s got to make the class look legit somehow I guess. She rambles a lot during class. Most of the time no one knows what she’s talking about.
Michelle Rowley
Expecting a B
Anonymous 01/08/2020
Class has essays due every other week, 2 main writing assignments about 7-9 pages each. Overall, class material is really easy to understand but Rowley is an extremely hard grader.
Michelle Rowley
Expecting a B
Anonymous 12/30/2019
Extremely hard grader, unreasonable, crazy. Class is a big waste of time, you will learn absolutely nothing. Class is a trap for white people.
Tangere Hoagland
Expecting a B+
Anonymous 12/19/2019
Lots of reading and writing. Weekly papers. She's an easy grader though and the class is an easy A if you just put in the bare minimum for all of the assignments.
Justin Sprague
Expecting an A+
Anonymous 12/16/2019
I took this course online over the summer. It had short lectures that we could read over and some readings including a few books. There was a lot of readings but most were interesting besides a few specific ones. We had to write weekly reading responses and post in the discussion boards 3-5 times per week for participation points. There was also weekly reading checks which were short multiple choice quizzes. The final was an essay. Dr. Sprague was very encouraging and engaging for the discussions and enjoyed it when you came to your own conclusion or tied a reading to your personal experience. It was a very informative class and interesting concepts were taught. I recommend the online version I had no problems with it.
Michelle Rowley
Expecting an A
Anonymous 05/24/2019
Very nice lady but EXTREMELY hard grader. Took this class because i heard it was easy but Professor Rowley makes it 10 times harder. If you're looking for an easy A, do NOT take this class with her.
Deborah Rosenfelt
Anonymous 12/16/2009
For any guys looking at this class, dont be fooled by the grade distribution. This class was terrible. The work was tedious and complete bs. Lectures were the worst and longest two hours of my week. This is the first college course I have taken where I can honestly say I learned NOTHING in a whole semester. Assigning 12 pages during exam week is a ludicrous request that made my final week almost unmanageable. Nothing against Dr. Rosenfelt but this class is worthless and I can not believe you can actually get credit towards a major for it.
Deborah Rosenfelt
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/16/2009
Well couple things to point out about this class. First is the workload seems much too large for what is a 3 credit course. Sometimes the information also seemed to be either repetitive or uninteresting. I do have admiration for Professor Rosenfelt. She seems genuinely interested in the topic we are discussing plus her students and tries to stay extremely open minded. Its only tough to follow because the classes are backed up with so much work it's hard to appreciate the content that is being taught to students. Overall I wouldn't suggest this class as a CORE to most people, there is definitely more interesting and easier courses in CORE, but it wasn't entirely unbearable. Try to have an open mind.
Deborah Rosenfelt
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/03/2009
This class is horrible. I believe that other WMST250 classes were better, but Rosenfelt's class was just awful. I took it because I thought it would be an easy A, however I regret that completely. There is a paper due every week, and oftentimes we had to read a book and write a paper on it within that week. Our final is take-home, but consists of 15 pages worth of writing, including an 8 page paper that we are given a week to write. Thought the TA's were nice, I feel that Rosenfelt was very critical of her students and was too politically correct, causing her to sound silly a lot of the time. Bottom line: Too much work for a 3 credit, beginner class. I dreaded going to this class every week.