Reviews for BMGT380

Information Review
Ross Cooper
BMGT380

Anonymous
12/08/2022
Cooper is genuinely the best professor I've ever had. He explains everything in an easily digestible way and makes class interactive and fun. I was originally dreading this class but it quickly became my favorite class I've taken. He is extremely passionate about the subject and his students' success. I always look forward to going to class and could not recommend him enough.
Ross Cooper
BMGT380

Anonymous
12/06/2022
Ignore the reviews about the other professors, this is your top choice right here. Even though I took the risk on the new guy I would do it again. All I can say is this, our class had the highest exam averages overall compared to other sections and once again this was during his first semester at UMD. He responds to emails faster than my ex-girlfriend and offers internship opportunities. If this isn't a no-brainer then I don't know what is.
Richard Daniels
BMGT380

Anonymous
09/28/2022
I despise his class a lot. I'm not sure if this is just a common style of teaching at UMD however I'm not a big fan of it. He literally just sits there without anything on the board/projector to help categorize our writing and talks about specific business law scenarios and vocabulary. And that makes writing and organizing topics written down difficult and harder to comprehend in my opinion. His teaching style is not for me. I know he’s very skilled in business law but as a professor, he’s not ideal. But if that's your style of teaching I'm sure he's a good professor for you then. (not graded yet)
William Martin
BMGT380

Expecting a B
Anonymous
09/15/2022
Overall when it comes to lecturing and knowing the information, while keeping students engaged during the Zoom meetings, professor Martin did a good job. The grading structure, however, was absolutely horrendous, which is typical in BMGT380 where you get 90% of your grade from exams and 10% from classroom case discussions. Over the 4 weeks, he expected us to watch and review 18+ hours of videos on Panapto while studying 6-8 cases and preparing them and then attending class for 3 hours and 10 minutes every week to present them if he randomly chooses to call on you. On top of this, every exam had between 30-48 questions lasting up to 2 hours with no guides, or practice exams available. All of the questions are purely conceptual from the definitions of terms from the recordings, and because this was sort of a flipped classroom, lecture discussion had no relevance to any of the exams. For all of the exams, students were forced to download an invasive 3rd party software called HonorLock so they can monitor their camera and room for the whole exam, which made many people drop out during the first week. The averages on the exams ranged from a C- to a B- and at some point, he mentioned that all Smith 300-level classes aim for around a 3.1 GPA average. At the end of the semester, the class average after all the exams was around 2.6 and he did not curve or bump grades despite him mentioning the 3.1 GPA goals. The reasoning behind me giving him a 3 is because Reyna, and pretty much all the other BMGT380 teachers all suck and they break GPAs except for Jon Crocker and because he never actually curved an exam or two to the GPA goal he mentioned. Besides that, he is overall a pretty chill person and nice to talk to. TL:DR do not take during the summer or winter unless you want to be bombarded with work, but if you wanna get 380 out of the way, it's basically the same as wasting a semester with Reyna except summer goes by quicker. Jon Crocker is the way to go if he ever teaches 380 again.
William Martin
BMGT380

Expecting a B
Anonymous
08/24/2022
Professor Martin knew his content very well, he seemed very knowledgeable on the subject of business law. He seemed very scattered though and often failed to communicate with us some things and was unclear on a lot of things as to his expectations. Would I take another class with Prof. Martin? Probably not. Was it an awful experience? No. Did I get something out of the course? Yes.
William Martin
BMGT380

Expecting an A+
Anonymous
08/18/2022
Professor Martin was an amazing law teacher. The course layout made it easy to process the material, and the discussions in class were fun (although sometimes stressful, since you're speaking in front of the whole class). There were chapters assigned for each week, lecture videos to elaborate on the chapters, and case briefs to prepare for each class. The chapters were definitely worthwhile to read, to cement the material and cover specific parts that could show up on exams. The lecture videos helped giving a summary of the key points, which was useful for exams and case briefs. The case briefs involved looking at law cases and summarizing the facts, laws, arguments, etc; overall, pretty easy to do once you get used to it, and fun to talk about in class. I took this class over Zoom in a summer session, so talking in class wasn't too intimidating. Each case brief involved rules of law that had been in the assigned chapters. Professor Martin is well-versed in law, respectful, and overall very pleasant to work with. Each class was made up of case brief discussions, with occasional material reviews of key concepts that the case briefs themselves address. Professor Martin guides students to the right answers in class discussions, so as long as you have done the proper preparation you will be fine. The exams are worth a great deal, so don't fall behind on coursework. Cramming last minute won't help. I found that digesting the pre-class material slowly and then paying close attention in class was invaluable, since learning the application of the various laws in case briefs really helped for understanding how they worked, when they applied, etc. You can spend hours trying to memorize your notes and it won't be as helpful as putting time in when you were supposed to—especially for the case briefs. Overall, this class was super interesting and taking it with Professor Martin in the summer was way better than taking it with someone else in the fall or spring. Fair warning: it will be time-consuming, so do NOT take it alongside another summer class (which I made the mistake of doing).
Gideon Mark
BMGT380

Expecting an A+
Anonymous
07/07/2022
Super funny guy, very nice. Right down everything, memorize it, and you will do well on the exams.
Gideon Mark
BMGT380

Anonymous
05/21/2022
Beast! Loved his class, super funny dude! Take good notes and you should do fine.
Justin Reyna
BMGT380

Expecting an A-
Anonymous
01/25/2022
Brutal class. Took in the winter semester which made it somewhat easier since we left off chapters and had a crib sheet for the exams. Reyna is passionate about the subject and is always willing to help students understand the material but his exams are so tough. Doing well requires reading chapters before the class and doing the practice questions that are on the end of the chapters. The cases help provide context on how to apply law but dont need to remember specific cases for the exam. This class wouldn't be too bad if it wasn't for the dumb grading system set by Smith. All in all, dont take his class if you only expect to attend lectures and get by with notes, this class requires much more effort than any other Smith class.
T Anenson
BMGT380

Anonymous
01/20/2022
Great teacher and nicest professor I have had in Maryland. She wants her students to learn and succeed. Responds to emails right away and accommodates her students' needs. I applaud her professionalism and her ability to be a personable professor.
T Anenson
BMGT380

Expecting a C
Anonymous
12/29/2021
Prof. Anenson is a great professor for one of the hardest courses in the general business curriculum. Her class is extremely test heavy (85% of the final grade), but she gives plenty of review materials including an in-depth Q&A the lecture before each exam. The other assignments are easy participation points that help bring up the final grade. Attendance is not mandatory for a grade but it highly recommended to succeed in this class.
T Anenson
BMGT380

Expecting a B+
Anonymous
12/27/2021
This lady is a saint. She cares a lot about if you are doing well and understand the material. She is fun, funny, and dumbs down concepts if they're hard. I didn't need the book in her class, but you really have to be in class for this one. Her slides are quite sparse and the exams are 100% based on lecture. Overall, great professor!!
Jon Crocker
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
12/22/2021
At first, I was really scared to take this class. Professor Crocker made sure to teach us the relevant information in a clear manner. We had to read a novel but it was pretty interesting. He showcased his experience as a lawyer which was really cool as well. As long as you work hard and study in his class, you will succeed and come out with new perspectives on the law and business.
Jennifer Gershberg
BMGT380

Expecting a B
Anonymous
12/17/2021
I loved this class!! The professor made this super interesting and as a difficult course, this was really refreshing. She really cares about her students and the material is not too much to handle as long as you go to class and take good notes. Best class I have taken in college and my favorite professor!
Jon Crocker
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
09/01/2021
Extremely nice, fun professor that tries to make a class with generally dry material super interesting. After hearing friends tell me horror stories about this class, taking 380 with Crocker was not only a pleasant surprise, but also taught me a lot. I really enjoyed attending lectures, and he made the material a lot more straightforward. would recommend Prof. Crocker for BMGT380 one-hundred-times over. Great guy; you won't be disappointed
Jon Crocker
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
08/31/2021
Professor Crocker is a very knowledgable and dedicated professor. He actively listens to students' concerns. Lectures can be very dry but they try to make the material understandable. Your grade is determined by a couple of quizzes and a final. The class was curved but you will need to work really hard to do well.
Jennifer Gershberg
BMGT380

Expecting a B+
Anonymous
06/03/2021
Garbage professor. Had to study so much through the dense material and she was completely uninteresting in the way she 'taught' the material. Doesn't really care about making exams accessible for everyone, just makes the exams as convoluted as possible and ultimately unless you have a ton of time to devote to the class you're probably not going to enjoy it. I feel like she genuinely believes her students are only taking her class. Avoid if you can. this class already sucks, don't bother tkaing it with her as she'll make the experience worse
Richard Daniels
BMGT380

Anonymous
05/17/2021
This professor was great! I took this class online so I can't confirm any of the negative reviews because he always seamed respectful and helpful to all his students. To begin, I recommend getting the book because a lot of what you will need for class and the exams comes directly from the text and he references it quite a bit. There are free versions of the text online. He prepares you well for the exams in terms of content but the questions can get confusing, as law by nature is extremely confusing. Please attend lecture as he will reiterate important topics that you may see on the exam. When in-person, I am unsure if the class will be regularly scheduled as our lectures were recorded and there were only 4-6 recorded lectures before each exam. He is honestly not trying to trick you and any questions or concerns are answered, but I know that B-law is hard, especially if essays need to be written in specific language. The up-side is there are no assignments due, which leaves time to prepare for class and study hard for the 3 exams, weighted equally. Overall, the professor is nice, provides examples for complicated topics, and I recommend for you to please please study hard because these topics can be difficult to remember.
Justin Reyna
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
04/18/2021
Fantastic Smith Professor. Challenges students and makes youengaged in the material. The class is extremely difficult, but it would be unfair to say the professor is not good. Tough grader - avoid if you are trying for an easy A.
Justin Reyna
BMGT380

Expecting a D+
Anonymous
01/05/2021
Professor Reyna is a harsh grader and doesn’t explain the material well. He expects his students to be like law students and know the material before getting to class so he doesn’t have to teach. He tries to be funny but comes off as condescending and does not try to help students pass the course. He grades unnecessarily hard as he says not to go off of the book but to do it his way which he doesn’t explain well.
T Anenson
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
12/26/2020
Amazing blaw professor. Will go out of the way to help you and teaches content in a very thorough and understandable way. Tests are straightforward but can be tricky sometimes, though she gives practice problems. Participation is easy points for grabs, and workload is on the lighter side. Grade heavily weighted on exams (no homework)
Justin Reyna
BMGT380

Expecting a C-
Anonymous
12/03/2020
To be honest, Reyna has a good personality; he is funny and loves to talk about related cases in class, but he is not as supportive while it comes to learning the course materials. Reyna is a smart guy, and he has VERY high expectations for his students. I understand this is a challenging course, especially during the pandemic, but additional help for the students could mean so much. He does not have any TA in this class, and there is nothing else to help you study besides reading the book and cases and listen to his lecture. The reading is confusing, but you can learn something from it if you put enough time to read through it. The exams wroth 80% of the total grade, but there are SO many typos in the exams, making the complicated exam questions even more difficult to understand. 10% of quizzes are not helpful either; it has nothing to do with the exams; it contains some basic knowledge and a writing prompt, and it could cause you to get points off if you mess up ( FYI, he is a harsh grader on the writing portion of the quiz and exams). Another 10% would be presenting cases in class. Rayna encourages students to do so because, in that way, we will have a "conversation" directly with him. I understand that he is trying to get people to engage in class, but I also believe that he is not considerate enough for all students. I am not a person who would give up easily, but the current situation makes me feel like I have no hope in this course. Lastly, If you are good in Law stuff and willing to challenge yourself, you should take him. But for a student who speaks English as a second language and or wants an easy A, you might want to reconsider your options.
Jennifer Gershberg
BMGT380

Expecting a P
Anonymous
10/26/2020
Not my type of professor. Her teaching was decent, but her exam questions were too wordy and not as straight-forward as her lectures or reviews.
Jennifer Gershberg
BMGT380

volankit
04/30/2020
She is amazing! I learned a lot from this course. This course has a bad rep to begin with, but it's not bad at all. She makes the concepts easy to understand. I definitely recommend her for business law.
Justin Reyna
BMGT380

Expecting an A-
Anonymous
08/13/2019
Funny guy! Pay attention and come prepared for class to do well.
Richard Daniels
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
05/07/2019
Daniels is a funny guy and a great professor. Just go to class and get to know him. Additionally it helps to skim the book before class to reinforce the material. He will also go over the exam material before the test so make sure you go to class. He is very generous and understanding- I would take him again.
Jennifer Gershberg
BMGT380

Anonymous
03/19/2019
If you are a junior and is at USG. Take a different professor at CP during summer.
Jennifer Gershberg
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
12/20/2018
Stickler on participation and uses bias when grading it. Some students can literally sit in class fucking around online and get an A while others can pay attention, never come late, take hand written notes and get below average. Kind of not fair and way too arbitrary. And as if her tests werent long and wordy enough, she DOUBLED the amount of questions on her final last minute and said it was to help us. She also does not curve and tends to discipline the whole class saying we didnt put in effort when thats just a minority of students. Mean lady. Looked at me like I was retarded when asking for clarification. I did pretty good here, but wow she is a controlling bitch. If taking her class, get ready to be treated like an inferior.
Burt Leete
BMGT380

Expecting a B-
BizGovTerp
04/15/2018
Do not take B-Law with Leete. He seems like a decent enough man but this has been the most frustrating class I've taken at UMD due to his lack of information or organization. The only grades for the whole class are 3 midterm exams, the final exam, and participation. The syllabus gives zero information as to how any of these are weighted and the exams are extremely difficult and are heavily curved as a result. He doesnt upload grades to ELMS and therefore you have no idea what exactly your grade is in the class. We've taken two exams so far and all he does is give us a raw score and a letter grade, with no precise numerical grade or how the grades are weighted, so I know my two letter grades for the exam but have no idea what my actual grade in the class is. In class he's a decent lecturer but he can barely hear anymore so asking questions you sometimes have to repeat yourselves multiple times and a lot of times he answers questions in a strange way, leading me to believe he oftentimes doesn't understand what the student is asking. The workload isn't super high for this class, and while the content is somewhat challenging it isn't completely unreasonable, but the way the class is taught it's an absolute nightmare and I regret choosing this as one of my business electives.
Jennifer Gershberg
BMGT380

Anonymous
01/05/2018
This is a hard class to begin with but she makes it manageable. If you don't read the book in advance she gets pissed. She will tell you what you need to know for the test and has review sessions before each test. Her tests are multiple choice and T/F. I just didn't like how she had a sign in sheet every class. Seemed pointless.
Burt Leete
BMGT380

Anonymous
05/25/2016
He is a fine professor, but not an easy one. The test is all multiple choice, some many of them involve case. The curves a lot because nobody did very well on his crazy hard test. You can take him if you don't mind to have a bad grade.
Gideon Mark
BMGT380

Anonymous
02/19/2016
His lecture is nothing helpful for the exam, which is challenging and feels like a SAT reading test. Don't be mislead by the comments from 2011, because Smith core course policy haven't changed at that time.
William McClenahan
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
08/13/2015
Honestly, I rarely ever write these reviews, except to warn students never to take a certain professor. But, I want to write one for McClenahan because although he comes off as a rather grumpy old man, he is a great professor. You need a rather thick skin to enjoy his class, because he doesn’t sugarcoat anything and he will call you out for wrong answers, annoying habits (NEVER sniff or blow your nose infront of him), and not doing the reading. That being said, he is a great teacher that explains everything very well. His tests are fair. They are not overly easy or overly difficult. He gives a generous curve and explains it in great detail. He gives practice exams and will help you prepare for the exams. Also, none of the test are cumulative so you only have to focus on current material. And, your allowed cheat sheets and he gives hints of what to put on them. I recommend you take McClenahan’s class and participate in it. Not only will you get a good grade, but you will actually learn and RETAIN a lot, which is more than I can say about most of my other classes. He makes it interesting with the cases and you’ll get to learn all about his collection of ex-wives by the end of the class too!
Richard Daniels
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
03/25/2015
I almost always agree with the OurUMD ratings but in this case, I completely do not understand these reviews. He is a horrible teacher. Daniels is terribly unorganized and all over the place. The class has no routine. Every day feels like it's his first day ever teaching. Even by the last month of the semester, you'll have no idea how class is going to run. He loves to talk about himself and his cases, and he loves to show videos from movies that are completely irrelevant to what we're learning. Basically, class involves sitting in class and listening to him rant about law, then trying to write down as much as you can so you can look up the key words and concepts later. Students who ask questions in class are often told, "look it up on your own later." The guy is a horrendous teacher. He constantly tells us not to become lawyers because it's horrible. He seems quite miserable. He also does not believe in holding office hours in Smith, so if you want to talk to him you have to take a trip to his law office. He's a jerk. He's one of those teachers who you look at and wonder, how did you get a job at this university? Also, a tip to students taking him, READ THE SYLLABUS BEFORE THE FIRST CLASS. He expects that on the first class, you've read chapter one.
William McClenahan
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
12/19/2014
After the first day of class with McClenahan, I wanted to drop the course. He comes off as intimidating and makes it seems as if he'll be very strict and require a lot of time. Don't let the first day scare you off. McClenahan is one of the best professors I've had at Smith and this class is probably the most useful one I've taken just because of how much I learned because of how he teaches. I assume most of the people who give him bad reviews are the ones that don't want to do anything in his class and get bad grades because of it (I get it, I want to do as little work as possible, too) but he's really accommodating if you ever go to him with a question or problem. He knows what he's talking about and makes it interesting. Overall, he's sarcastic and takes no shit but as long as you're not incompetent then he's not nearly as intimidating as he seems. Grade is 3 tests and participation. He drops a lot of hints in class about what's on the tests and you can have a cheat sheet. You can read the book and do fine on the tests, but he tells stories in class that help you understand stuff. His tests are also different (shorter but more comprehensive) than the other two BLaw professors'. Participation is really just being there for group discussions and volunteering like twice to summarize a case in class. Not bad. You have to take this class no matter what, so you might as well get something out of it. Take it with him.
William McClenahan
BMGT380

Expecting an A+
Anonymous
05/31/2014
I am currently in BMGT380 with Professor McClenahan. If you are looking into this class, it's probably because it is required for your major. What you don't know yet is that this class is one of the most helpful classes you will take during your time at the business school. This is how the class was structured during Spring 2014, so there may be some deviation in the future but I can only speak to what I know. There are two midterms and one final exam. These make up the majority of your grade. There is also a participation portion and this makes up 10 percent of your final grade. The way he has the class structured is he assigns you a reading for each class. Some chapters he may discuss in one class, some he may discuss over a few classes. He has a good feel for what the students struggle with, having done this for some time, and spends more time on the really difficult subjects. The expectation is for you to come to lecture having read the material. Then the Professor lectures on the material and once he gets to a case, he asks someone to explain the facts. He may ask you a few questions on the case and then he moves on if nobody has any questions. Overall this is a great way to learn the material. You may have heard stories about Professor McClenahan. I assure you he is one of the best Professors I have ever had. As others have pointed out, he does comes off as intimidating early in the semester, but as you move forward in the semester you get less intimidated and start to see just how good of a Professor he is. He actually wants you to learn and do well. If you ask him a question he is able to answer it even if the answer is a little murky as some areas of the law may be. Even though he has been teaching this class for a while now, he still does research for class, which I feel is rare for a Professor these days. I specifically remember a few instances where I would make a comment or ask a question during class and think nothing of it. But the next class, Professor McClenahan would come up to me before lecture started and tell me he looked into what I said and inform me of what he found. I found this amazing as it showed not only did he listen to our questions and comments and answer them; he then took time out of his day to find out more information and get back to us. Overall, if you are taking BMGT380, take it with McClenahan. It is a difficult class. He expects you to do the reading. His exams are tough. But if you put the work in, are engaged, and brief a few cases, there is no reason for you not to do well and you will certainly learn a great deal.
Burt Leete
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
04/30/2014
Professor Leete is a hilarious and engaging lecturer. His classes consist of half lecture, and half cold calling on students to read and explain cases. Overall there is a lot of required reading, and the exams can be very challenging. That being said, he offers a substantial curve on all of the exams, especially the first one, and I can say I learned quite a bit from this class.
Brian Nelson
BMGT380

Expecting a B-
Anonymous
04/24/2013
Never really understood why this guy got so much shade. Really intelligent and friendly. I'd suggest taking him. He can be a bit dry at times and his teaching style relies a lot on the board but he can be funny and interesting. I had a terrible semester and he still gave me a B- after I failed two exams.
William McClenahan
BMGT380

Expecting an A-
Anonymous
02/23/2013
I really liked Dr. McClenahan. The course is a bit tough but as long as you do the readings and go to class, you should be fine. The study guides are a tremendous help, just writing them out really made studying a lot easier. He's a bit gruff at first but he gets nicer as the semester goes on. He loves it when you volunteer to summarize a case, so just read them once or twice the night before class and he'll quickly start liking you. If you're confused about something, just ask him to clarify it, because he's quite good at breaking concepts down. He also tried to connect some of what we were studying to more recent events; for instance, when we were going over the supremacy clause of the Constitution, he talked about the recent voter initiatives in Colorado and Washington which legalized recreational cannabis use.
Richard Daniels
BMGT380

Expecting a B
Anonymous
01/05/2013
This is the first time I've felt compelled to write a review on a teacher. I signed up for Daniels because of the great reviews he had below. They were extremely misleading. Here's how Daniels and his class actually is (btw this isn't a review being written by a bitter student, I got a B in the class): To sum Daniels up in 2 words would be arrogant a$$h0le. Pros: - reading the book is helpful, but not mandatory. he spends most of class lecturing, so you end up having in your notes everything you need to know for the exams (that is if you can write fast enough to catch everything he's saying). - he lets you take the exams at home. if you email him a week before the exam and tell him you're overwhelmed and have a lot of other exams that same week, he'll email you the exam for you to take at home. 2 midterms and a final. obviously you can't do this for all exams. - he does sometimes have interesting stories about cases he's had or court room stories - he shows movie clips in the beginning of class (except he starts them 15 min before class actually starts. if you're early to class, you're on time. if you're on time, you're late. if you're late, he'll embarrass you in front of the class) - sometimes it's funny when he embarrasses people in front of the class..unless you're the one he's calling out Cons (oh god, where to start): - sooo disrespectful. If you ask him a question, he'll make you feel like an idiot and make you regret ever asking. - it's hard to keep up with taking notes. i had a lot of half finished bullet points because you don't want to miss what he's about to say. - the 1st half of the semester, he'll randomly call on people to play the attorneys on both sides for a case that you have to read for homework. aka stand in front of the class and be criticized by daniels. Sometimes there'll be 4 different cases in a chapter and you won't know which one he's going to use the following class. - the exams have an essay portion, which is fine, but he looks for a certain number of phrases and definitions. for each phrase you include, you get points. for each phrase you don't include, you lose points. How are you supposed to know which phrases/words he wants to see in your essay response? Good question. He seems to forget that we're not law students. - Participation is 10% of the grade. You don't know what your grade is until the end of the semester and he doesn't have a system for giving out these grades. He'll give you anywhere from a 1 to a 10. He bases the grade on how much he likes or dislikes you. I attended every single class but got under a 5 for participation because "going to class is expected." I'm not really a raise my hand and voice my opinion type of student, so someone who came to class 5 times and participated each time probably got a higher grade than me, even though I never once missed class. It's really just frustrating to sit through a class being taught by such a disrespectful and rude individual. He never once called me out in class or did any of those obnoxious things to me, so that's not why this review is being written. I just think people should know what they're actually getting themselves into. Oh and when did grades come up? Final exam was December 19. Grades were officially due December 22 or 23, but rules don't apply to the almighty Professor Daniels. Several people emailed him asking when grades would come up, he never answered those emails. Grades finally went up January 2, 2013.
William McClenahan
BMGT380

Expecting an A-
Anonymous
12/17/2012
I do not understand why people tell you not to take 380 with McClenahan. He is a great teacher. The people that are writing horror stories about him are the ones who did not show up to class. If you do not go to class and do poorly on exams, he will not make time to help you. Which is what any ordinary teacher will do. He may seem scary in class when discussing the material, but he is very nice in office hours. I went into his office and he knew my name and asked me how I was doing. He actually cared about me and cared if I liked the class. He knows the material really well and enjoys speaking about it. He has great examples and makes the class laugh almost every time. I went to class half of the time and spoke maybe 5 times the whole year and got an 85% for participation. As long as you say something meaningful, he will put a check next to your name. If you have a couple checks, you get a B like myself. My guess is if you have 5 you probably get an A. Be aware he will shoot you down quick and cut you off if you are saying something wrong. It is a little rude, but its good for the rest of the class because they wont be confused by your stupidity. The class has 3 exams all 24 multiple choice. The first one is curved heavily and people usually do not do as well. The second exam people do much better on. The final is alright and not Cumulative which is great. As long as you read the book and understand the terminology, you should be set for at least a B. I studied an average of 10 hours the night before each exam and got an A- on each. Im not a smart kid, i am an average student (3.4 GPA, Nothing special). This class is not that bad and McClenahan does a great job teaching it.
Richard Daniels
BMGT380

Expecting an A
acd2014
12/13/2012
Fantastic teacher! Always keeps lecture very interesting and uses a lot of stories from real cases. He's a big fan of movies related to courtroom cases and law and will show a lot of clips. If you put in the effort to memorize terms, you'll have no problem doing well. It's a good idea sitting up front so he gets to know you.
Burt Leete
BMGT380

Expecting an A
clue
09/18/2012
Leete was a great professor. He was really funny and made up really good examples in class to illustrate his points. The exams could be challenging, but if you pay attention in class and do the reading, you should do okay. He also curved the exams a lot -- on the first exam, I think a middle-C became an A. He called on people randomly, but since the class was pretty big, I only had to present a case twice the whole semester. I would still come to class prepared every day though.
Burt Leete
BMGT380

Expecting an A-
adinas
05/20/2012
He is a great teacher. He gives entertaining examples and makes the class fun while covering the material.He also really cares about the students. He gives 3 tests and an optional final. His tests are challenging but they have large curves (75% + is ussually and A). You should attend lecture since he won't test you on a topic unless it was covered in lecture. Also,you should attend lecture since he is great at teaching the material.
William McClenahan
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
01/26/2012
*took BMGT380 over winter term* Professor McClenahan makes you work for your grade, something you should be prepared to do anyway by signing up for Business Law. It's really important to read and keep up with the cases, as they'll give you a better understanding of his discussions in class. If anything, TAKE ADVANTAGE OF HIS CHEAT SHEET POLICY. His exams are tough but manageable if you make a bomb cheat sheet. In addition, it's an amazing way of reviewing the material and getting reacquainted with concepts. Professor McClenahan is not a bad guy at all. If you're not willing to work, then most likely you're not going to enjoy the class in general. Otherwise, I think he is a great professor and is extremely knowledgable about law & the textbook. Don't feel intimidated... just do the work. You'll be fine.
William McClenahan
BMGT380

Anonymous
01/03/2012
Professor McClenahan can be gruff and stand-offish at times - especially towards the beginning of the semester - but he's actually a pretty cool dude once you get to know him. While he does not practice law in Maryland (he's licensed for Virginia), he knows the course material and teaches it well. He does randomly call on people to help go over certain cases and can get tough on those who obviously show that they never bothered to look over the chapters before classes. He's quite lenient when it comes to curving tests, even going so far as to cover exam material the class before the test and allows a cheat sheet. Read the books and attend his classes and you're pretty much guaranteed to earn at least a B if you pay attention. DO WHAT YOU'RE SUPPOSED TO DO AS A STUDENT AND YOU CAN'T FAIL. If you're a slacker and the kind of person who thinks they can skate by just by reading the text and not attending classes, I highly suggest you do not take his classes. TL;DR: Tough professor, but very skilled in what he knows. Read the book and attend the lectures; you'll learn a lot from his class.
William McClenahan
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
12/29/2011
As said by others, you get a cheat sheet for exams so you need to understand the concepts and apply them. There are two routes you could go in this class. 1. Don't attend any classes, read the chapters the days before the tests, dont read any of the cases, make a baller cheat sheet, ace the 3 tests and get an A. 2. Go to most of the classes, get taught the concepts and note what the professor focuses on because that is what will be on the test, participate and read the cases and all that bs and get an A. I went with option 1 and got an A. He says attendance is a part of your grade but if you do well enough on tests, youll get half the attendance points and that is enough. The concepts are easy enough to understand if youre smart enough you can get the A.
Gideon Mark
BMGT380

Expecting a B+
Anonymous
12/22/2011
Gideon is legitmately one of the best professors I could ask for in law. He really knows what he is talking about and he is hilarious. His lectures are straight from the book so don't waste your time reading anything but the cases. Take notes on your computer to keep up with him...there are a LOT of notes. The exams are right out of the notes and he applies all the concepts to situations with Jersey Shore and the Kardashians.
Gideon Mark
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
12/15/2011
I liked him a lot. He is very dry (but so is the subject of business law) with a very wry sense of humor. Pretty straight-forward way of presenting notes, although he does not upload them online. Makes you present a case for a free 10% and then the rest of your grade is just three tests. The tests are 15 T/F and 35 MC which are really straightforward and directly from his notes. Doesn't try to trick you
Richard Daniels
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
12/07/2011
Excellent professor. The lectures are very interesting since he will use real life examples. The best thing is he will tell you exactly what is on the exam so you dont even need to read the book. His exams are very easy since he goes over everything during the review. This is my favorite class so far.
William McClenahan
BMGT380

rikimeester
11/28/2011
The worst professor ever! I took him at first seeing his gpa rating but the horror stories that I heard from my friends who all took him before made me switch teachers. He is extremely mean, would call on you and then argue if your opinion doesn't match his. His tests have essays which I hear are extremely difficult but thank god I made a wise choice and dropped this class before it was too late. Professor G. Mark is hell alot better and I'm glad I took this course with him!
Gideon Mark
BMGT380

Expecting an A
rikimeester
11/28/2011
Basically agree with the two other comments. Really nice. Very helpful. Really funny. Great lecturer. 3 tests. 15 t/f, rest are multiple choices all pretty straightforward. Take good notes, review them and you'll get a good grade. No need to read the book if u take good notes. His exams r directly from his lecture. He is actually one of the better professors for teaching BMGT 380 especially compared that McClenahan guy.
Richard Daniels
BMGT380

Anonymous
11/15/2011
Professor Daniels is easily my favorite teacher. He actually makes me enjoy class and makes it really easy to learn the material. Tests are hard but he will tell you exactly what is on them if you go to class. This is the first class that I've cared enough to write a review for, seriously, you should take this.
Gideon Mark
BMGT380

Expecting an A
st
11/11/2011
The most awesome professor in the Smith school! One of the reasons I actually understand the law is because of his teachings. He is a great professor. He seems dull at first but is actually extremely hilarious! He's super cool since he's into pop culture and half of his examples are from the entertainment business. He make the concepts so easy that as long as you are taking good notes and review them well before the exam you are going do really well. He is very knowledgeable, and genuinely likes to help students. He has to be one of the best business law professors-he teaches during the fall so if you need to take bmgt380 make sure you register for his class asap since most of the seats for his class gets taken fairly quickly.
Burt Leete
BMGT380

Expecting an A
ayc
05/25/2011
Leete makes 385 interesting. If you pay attention in class and read the textbook you'll be fine. Exams are not the easiest but he curves a lot so you'll get fair grades.
Richard Daniels
BMGT380

Expecting an A
anynomous
05/19/2011
Excellent professor. Lectures are very interesting. He does well at interacting with the class. I agree with the previous comment. He does pick favorites but do not get discouraged because he DOES pay attention on who is engaged and whether you are listening during lecture. My best advice would be to sit in the front. I used to record his lectures and listen to them. Managed to get A's in all his exams since he goes over everything on the exams during class. Excellent professor.
William McClenahan
BMGT380

Expecting a B
Anonymous
01/24/2011
Professor McClenahan makes 380 harder than it needs to be so if you aren't interested in persuing law school than I suggest not taking him. With that being said, I learned a significant amount in his course and he truly is very intelligent. He wants his students to succeed. I did very badly on the first exam so I went to his office hours and pulled my grade up from a D to a B. If you show up to class, read the book carefully and review the cases you will do well in his class.
Gideon Mark
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
01/21/2011
Quick to respond to e-mails. Very available to students. Tests are pretty straightforward. You don't really need to read the book if you take notes. Funny guy at times, otherwise pretty boring with a monotonous voice. Make sure to take good notes in class and you will be fine getting an A.
William McClenahan
BMGT380

Anonymous
01/04/2011
WORST PROFESSOR EVER!! SO boring! SO ignorant! He hates law! He doesn't know answers to half the stuff he's teaching! His tests are extremely challenging. He only gives a "sample exam" for his first test so you can get a taste of what he tests like. But extremly hard! Don't take him!
Brian Nelson
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
11/29/2010
he wants everyone to do well. topic reviews are the 'homework' type assignments you have to complete online. he's very understanding and wants everyone to do well. do exactly what he says and you'll be fine on the exam. grade is based on 2 midterms, a final, and topic reviews. take him! + he's funny (sometimes)
Burt Leete
BMGT380

goterps
05/20/2009
Burt Leete was a great pick for B-Law. He keeps the lectures interesting with funny examples that can really help you remember the concepts. His wry sense of humor keeps things interesting. Reading the book will really help reinforce what he talks about in class and explains things fairly well. He only tests on the things he covers in class, which is nice. The exams are multiple choice and can be challenging, mainly because of the wording of the questions and answers, but he normally curves anywhere from 10-15%. And the final is optional.
Richard Daniels
BMGT380

Expecting an A
Anonymous
04/22/2009
Professor Daniels is an excellent teacher. He is a real practicing lawyer, and brings his knowledge to the classroom. He keeps class interesting by showing clips from movies and telling hilarious stories from the courtroom. Some people may find the test hard because they are mostly essay. He does pick favorites very early on in the semester. He will remember these few people's names and no one else's and mostly call on them. This can be discouraging at times if, like me, you are not one of his favorites.
Burt Leete
BMGT380

Anonymous
11/22/2008
Good class. Funny Guy. challenging tests. good pick for bmgt380
William McClenahan
BMGT380

Expecting a B-
Anonymous
11/12/2008
I hated going to this class. You have to read the chapter before going to class. 10% of your grade is class participation. 90% is exams, which are very difficult, but he does curve them. He can be very intimidating and likes to randomly call on people to outline questions or cases in class. He is tough on his students and demands a lot out of them. Not the most fun class... that is for sure!
Burt Leete
BMGT380

Expecting an A
amehta
05/13/2008
Getting a B is common in this class. If you study the book well you'll be fine. He posts his powerpoint slides online but you don't really need them to study. you have to go to class because he randomly calls on people to summarize case studies. the book is kind of boring but explains the material pretty well. Tests can be pretty rough. A lot of the questions test you on application of the subjects. there is usually a huge curve on the exams though
Burt Leete
BMGT380

terpfan29
11/03/2007
Strengths Dr. Leete is a funny guy and tried to make classes interesting. His examples and stories were funny and it wasn't too bad of a class. It could be very boring at times, but he did his best. I didn't mind going to that class too much, though it was somewhat boring. But a lot of it is practical for everyday life which made it good. He curves tests a lot as well. Definitely go to class as it's helpful and case briefings when called on randomly count for your grade. The final was optional for us and he told you your projected final grade, so if you were satisfied you didn't have to take the final. It wasn't too difficult to get a B, but hard to get an A. If you put the time in to study and learn the material really well, you should be fine. Drawbacks The tests are extremely challenging. To compensate for this he curves a lot. The book is boring and dry but thats not his fault.