Reviews for professors for MATH461

Professor Information Review
Manoussos Grillakis
Expecting a C
Anonymous 12/15/2018
guys bruh like I literally got a 29% on his exam bruh, the class average was literally 48%, I left like 3 questions blank basically. Good news is the class is curved like Messi curves his freekicks so it'll bring my absolute poop grade to passing. Man is a nice and responsive guy but does not teach in his lectures.
Manoussos Grillakis
Anonymous 12/13/2018
the guy's smart, but his lectures are way too theoretical and boring. i mean yeah linear algebra is pretty conceptually based, but his lectures were so boring and counter intuitive. like the first thing we should learn is how to RREF, but one the first day he basically just did RREF examples without even explaining what the hell was going on. honestly one of the worst lecturers for a MATH240 equivalent, seems much better at teaching real math400s his grading is the nicest part, and there was extra credit as well. but as of now, the averages for the tests were high 60s, and then one below a 50%. he literally put a problem that was from the next chapter on one of his tests, and even with the generous grading the class should still be technically curved, considering that if you got the average on every test you'd have a 60% in the class, which is barely passing by most standards(C-). take this class if you're willing to really learn on your own and get a really good grasp of linear algebra. otherwise,go take 240 and have better professors actually teach you how to do most of the crap.
Manoussos Grillakis
Expecting a C
Anonymous 12/13/2018
Very poor instructor, does not explain what he is doing when teaching a new subject. Tests are very difficult with many true false questions in which you have to prove why it is true or false. He will teach out of order from the text book and will be teaching many sections ahead of what is relevant for an upcoming exam. I highly recommend choosing another instructor.
Manoussos Grillakis
Expecting an A
Anonymous 11/21/2018
Grillakis gets a lot of average reviews because he gives easy tests and a nice curve. However, if you want to actually learn something, and you're not in the top 1-2% of students who pick up material instantly, then expect to do a lot of work yourself. For MATH461, he teaches in the largest lecture hall in the Armory, without a microphone, and speaks at barely above a whisper. For comparison, there's some guy who sits in the fifth row or so who always eats takeout during class and his chewing and burping is louder than Grillakis's lecturing. Furthermore, Grillakis is unclear about what material he teaches simply because it's cool to know and the material he expects us to know for exams. His lectures seem like he's just rambling and he does not indicate clearly when switching between topics. He also does very few practice problems. Although some of the TAs are actually very good, Grillakis does not communicate well with the TAs about what material is being covered in lecture and what might be on the test. We also were not provided with sample or practice exams. It's impossible to know the difficulty, length, and even what concepts will be tested on the exams. Like another review said, the grades are only based on three midterms (lowest gets dropped) and the final. Later in the semester, he informed us there would be MATLAB assignments for extra credit. If you want to learn the material on your own and get a pretty easy A, take Grillakis. Otherwise, avoid Grillakis for MATH461.
Manoussos Grillakis
Anonymous 11/21/2018
Grillakis uses the textbook heavily, so if you read that you should be fine. He is very generous in his grading, offers extra credit assignments, and drops your lowest exam grade. Not a fantastic lecturer, as lectures can be dry and uninteresting. Overall though, he is a decent professor and I would take him again.
Manoussos Grillakis
Expecting a B+
Anonymous 09/11/2018
The worst professor I’ve had at this school, and that’s saying a lot because most professors here have been really bad. He comes to class without a mic in a large lecture hallway in the armory, practically whispers, writes illegibly on the board, and seems to directly take definitions from the book and write them down without a single example. Really bad.
Konstantina Trivisa
Expecting a B+
Anonymous 04/17/2018
Really good teacher made class really easy. No curve at the end though. needed .5 to get an A in the class but she didn't give
Allan Yashinski
Expecting a B+
Anonymous 12/31/2017
Teaching: He's a great teacher, explains concepts well, pretty much on par with the required textbook. Chill guy. Format: There are two midterms. The second one is harder than the first. The difficulty with getting an A in this class is the true false questions. A lot of them are similar to his optional homework problems, but there are so many of them to study that most people end up losing points on the true and false. I got a 93 on the first exam and a B- on the second one due to mainly true and false errors. I ended up with a B+ in the course, since the final was hard. The weekly quizzes are easy and based off of examples quickly taught in lectures, even though they're supposed to be based off of the optional homework. The matlab projects are very straightforward. The hard part is the exams. Since there is so much material to cover, its very easy to forget important varieties of problems, some of which you may have hardly seen which surprisingly appear on exams. MATLAB Projects 15% Quizzes 15% Midterm Exams 40% Final Exam 30%
Niranjan Ramachandran
Expecting a B+
Anonymous 06/25/2013
Ramachandran is the only teacher that I have felt the need to sign up and review. He is incredibly knowledgeable and extremely approachable. For those of you who wish to learn and want a teacher you can talk to, take his class. If you are the type who just wants a minimum work A look elsewhere. This teacher will make you a better student, this is a teacher where your tuition is worth it.
Melissa Macasieb
Expecting an A
Anonymous 01/02/2013
She's pretty clear during lectures, although she writes at a rapid-fire pace. Took me most of the semester to realize that it's better to just pay attention and write down useful examples since she (mostly) teaches straight from the book's chapters. Exams are pretty straightforward and similar to practice exams, although they may emphasize different topics. Homework collected only for completion. Overall, this is probably one of the easiest math courses available for scientists/engineers to take.
Melissa Macasieb
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/26/2012
I'm not going to give a very long review for Dr. Macasieb because I stopped going to lecture after the first month but here goes: As far as her skill as a lecturer, I thought that Dr. Macasieb was pretty good; a 3.9/5. She has a normal accent which counts for a lot and she's pretty dry (follows the book and the concepts in a pretty straightforward) so she's not really bad, per se. That being said, I didn't find her lectures to be very interesting and she did tend to make mistakes often enough where it made some things confusing. It got to the point where I figured (correctly) that I could just learn the material out of the book and not really miss out on anything I would have learned in lecture so that's what I did and I ended up with an A no problem. As far as homeworks go, her assignments took quite a while...I'm talking a minimum of 2.5 hours if you didn't put much effort into them and around 4 if you did. They all came straight out of the textbook so they definitely helped to strengthen the concepts of the class. Basically, it ended up being the same thing as getting points for studying. The Matlabs were also really easy and most of them took me around an hour (where a decent part of that was making it look nice and revising it). Her exams were straightforward and, as far as math exams go, pretty easy. Overall I definitely recommend her for a linear (or any) class. Her lectures were a bit boring in my opinion but other than that she was an awesome professor. If you're good at math then you'll probably get a B with almost no effort and probably an A if you put in the time that any class deserves.
Antoine Mellet
Expecting a B
kvizzle321 01/02/2012
No quizzes, easy homeworks and matlab assignments, and straightforward exams. MATH461 is a fairly easy class and Mellet is a laid back professor. Lectures are helpful but you can easily read the book and learn the material and still succeed in the class. I suggest taking MATH461 as a upper level engineering elective.
Antoine Mellet
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/27/2011
I would absolutely take more classes with Dr. Mellet given the chance. He was extremely organized with our class, and followed the book pretty closely. However, if you attended lecture, you could learn pretty much everything there and did not have to rely on the book much at all. You will need it for the homework, though. He is not the type of teacher to throw a curveball on the test. He gives out practice exams, which are a pretty good indicator of what you will need to know. If you navigate his website, you can find his old course pages and find exams from previous years. If you do 2-3 sample exams for each test, you should have no problem. The homework assignments are time consuming, but are not usually very difficult. Matlab assignments are pretty easy as well, and if you just put the time into doing them, it should be a free 10% of your grade. He weights your lowest test as half of your other test grades. Overall, this course was easy, and he taught it very well. It's not a bad idea to take this and differential equations at the same time, since the end of the course is pretty similar in both.
Antoine Mellet
Expecting an A
Anonymous 08/25/2011
He is an ok teacher. Homework is graded mostly on completion and the matlab assignments are easy. Mellet pretty much rewrites the book on the board, so you can find nearly all the notes and examples that he posts in the book. This was frustrating at times for me because if i had a hard time understanding the book, Mellet didnt help too much. The material was hard for me to understand, because it was very abstract. I didn't fully grasp many of the fundamental concepts until midway through the semester. But if you study hard and do all the example problems in the book, and you go to discussion and ask questions, you can succeed in this class. If you need an upper level math credit to take, this class with mellet is a good option.
Antoine Mellet
Expecting an A
terp315 06/25/2011
Honestly, I didn't go to lecture that often since the material came straight out of the book. However, when I did go, lectures were informative and easy to follow along to. The exams he gave were very fair and straight forward. Overall, I would definitely recommend 461 with Mellet.
Antoine Mellet
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/18/2010
Overall he is a good mathematics professor. The class is easy and his grading criteria is pretty straight forward. 3 tests, homework each week (time consuming and definitely not eco-frindly ... wasting a lot of paper) two homeworks are dropped. He has a cool French accent. I would certainly recommend him for ENEE461.
Antoine Mellet
Expecting an A
mreese 12/05/2010
If you find algebra intuitive, you can miss every lecture and do well in this class. However, Mellet made it quite enjoyable to be in lecture with his attractive accent and clear, organized lectures (he follows the book most of the time). Professor Mellet is really friendly and was excited to answer my questions unrelated to course material when I showed up at his office in the morning unannounced. There are no quizzes in Mellet's 461, but the weekly homework questions were selected well to emphasize important skills. Tests (three total) were all straightforward, but graders may take off more points than you're used to for simple things like arithmetic errors in order to lower grades (not a big deal, but test averages are high in this class). Overall, a highly enjoyable and easy class with a great teacher.
Michael Jakobson
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 05/19/2010
WORST PROFESSOR. 20 people went to class regularly (armory room is full on test days) because his lectures are that bad. Can't understand him. Can't read his awful handwriting. Tests have many curve-balls and are completely different each time. Very hard to study for. Tests did not represent knowledge of subject. I retook this class because I didn't get transfer credit. Got A+ last time - barely, barely squeezed an A- this time even though the material was the exact same. Stay far away from this professor.
Michael Jakobson
frakking_geek 05/07/2010
The overall material itself was mildly interesting. I wish I could say the same however for Professor Jakobson's lectures. After the first 15 minutes on the first day, I realized that I was never going to learn a single thing from his class and that the semester was going to essentially be an independent study in Linear Algebra. His lectures are dry and boring, assuming one can read his handwriting on the chalkboard or understand his accent. And if you can get past both of them, that's also assuming that you can stay awake after listening to a couple of minutes of his monotone speech. Overall, going to lecture was a waste if you try to pay attention and learn from him. However, they were very productive as a good study environment if you took the textbook in class and just taught yourself the material from the book as he was lecturing on it. I can guarantee that most of the other people in that lecture would agree with me in how only a handful of us would show up to lecture each time. Even then, the number of students in lecture would exponentially decay as time went on, starting from the first couple of minutes of class, with students leaving as though they came to lecture with the hope that it would be somewhat effective in learning the material, forgetting just how bad Jakobson’s lectures are and then being hit with the same revelation each time that it really was pointless to show up to class. Again, I was probably one of the few that regularly came to class and that was due solely to the fact that I realized that if I was able to tune out the lecture, I was able to teach myself the material from the book and understand it on a much deeper level than I could ever hope to gain from listening to Jakobson’s lectures. I can confidently say that this class has by far been the one with the least effective professor I’ve ever had in my entire time I have been in school, going as far back as pre-k.
Matei Machedon
Anonymous 05/05/2010
Personally, I love Matei. He is very approachable and helpful, but the reason I gave him a 4/5 and not 5/5 is because to be truthful he is not particularly user-friendly at times. This is because he has handwriting that American students aren't used to, i.e. cursive, and he doesn't write all that largely. He does indeed have a Russian accent, but it's not difficult to understand after the first class or so...but then again, I know many non-native speakers and may just be used to it.
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A
Fargalas 03/27/2010
I've taken Math461 and currently 246 with Machedon. No joke, as others have said, he is pretty much the nicest guy in the whole CMPS college. He really goes out of his way to explain things outside of class if you want extra help. His exams are fair, homework is generally minimal(in collection, at least), but covers what you really need to know. You will definitely want to do something extra, or review that homework, if you expect to understand the material, though. He does have an accent, but it's not hard to understand, and he really does lecture excellently. I'm really hoping to have more classes with him in the future.
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A
talonstriker 12/19/2009
Aliesh pretty much nailed it. The guy is a brilliant professor and an overall nice guy. The 1 homework per week is a bit annoying, only because I hate going to discussions. The exams will be easy if you understand the practice exams and attend the review sessions. In every exam, 70% of the points will be for basic problems that are absolutely pre-requisite. The next 20% is a bit more challenging but not too hard. 10% will be hard as ajkhdajlkshd. He uses this to weed out people who actually understand the material and those two regurgitate formulas well (such as myself). The final was incredibly hard for those who didn't do the practice exams. Those who did the practice exams, found it a cakewalk.
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/17/2009
His class was a bit too easy in hindsight, but seeing as this was my last semester here and I was juggling a job, interviews, research and coursework, it's probably a good thing. Machedon knows his audience; if you take him for a general level math or engineering course (200 level and 461 etc) he is NOT really going to challenge you very much. If you take him for a pure math course, however, he will expect a lot more out of you. He assigns homework every week which I essentially copy pasted from the solutions manual (many times without looking twice at it) and there was one laughably easy MATLAB assignment. Aside from being incredibly intelligent, Matei is a really nice guy and it will come across clear as day the moment you are in class with him. He is devoted to the subject and if you put in an effort, it will be rewarded. Not a bad class, but I would have liked a bit more of a challenge.
Matei Machedon
guru 10/01/2009
Sometimes lectures are difficult to follow but the fact that he is probably the nicest professor you will ever meet makes up for it. If you ever need extra time on homework or something just talk to him he'll probably allow you to do so. Sometimes he requires you to solve matrix equations using tricks that he teaches in class, so go. FYI his final was also somewhat difficult.
Matei Machedon
Anonymous 12/22/2008
The lectures are at times tough to understand, but overall a decent lecturer. There was very little MATLAB for this course and his exams were usually pretty fair.
Matei Machedon
aleish 12/19/2008
Professor Machedon definitely knows what he is talking about and while he does have an eastern European accent, his diction and grammar is better than almost any native English speaker that I know. I can understand every word, it is just not as easy on the ears as Sean Connery. In this class, the homework assignments are graded by the TA's and we have two mid-term exams and a final. The material comes across as abstract and without applications, but I realized that he is giving us is the theory and we will apply it in later engineering classes. The material is also very different from previous math courses because a lot of it cannot be visualized, which made it difficult for me at first. But with study and practice it is not impossible to do well on the exams. I am glad that I took this class. Also, the author of the book has video lectures on iTunes U and on the MIT website, where there is also other practice material. This is extremely useful and I would definitely recommend using this resource!! I decided not to take MATH240 because it met almost everyday, whereas 461 only has lecture twice a week.
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/17/2008
I wasn't a fan of his teaching style but his exams were generally easy. No quizzes and his grade breakdown was fairly simple. The book he uses is horrible. If you could take the other professor Lay, I would. His exams were really straight up but his final was difficult...so conceptual.
Casey Cremins
Expecting a B
Anonymous 03/03/2008
good prof. gives out practice tests which are very close to his real tests. very good teacher as well. explains everything really well.
McBlaine Boyle
Anonymous 11/06/2007
Took Linear Algebra with Boyle a few semesters ago, and he was a really great teacher. Broke the material down, and gave a bunch of examples. I would definitely suggest taking a class with him, he's pretty good.