Reviews for professors for ENEE324

Professor Information Review
Prakash Narayan
Expecting an A+
Anonymous 05/19/2019
He is a good professor. He knows the material well. If you want to learn while getting a decent, then you should definitely take him.
Prakash Narayan
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/21/2018
Good lecturer. ENEE324 Fall 2018. The highest grade for the final was a 53 percent. The average was about a 26 percent. Need I say more?
Anthony Ephremides
Expecting a C-
Anonymous 12/13/2018
Exams are terrible, thinks his way of doing things is the only right way. His notes are not sufficient enough to do well on the exams.
Armand Makowski
Expecting a B
Anonymous 05/26/2018
Here are the median grades for our tests this semester: Midterm 1: ~50% Midterm 2: ~25% Final: ~40% For overall grades, there was 1 A, 7 B's, 12 C's, and 6 D's. Spare yourself the trouble and avoid Makowski at all costs. He will tank your GPA, teach you little, and underhandedly insult the class when it inevitably does poorly. Test questions are typically either fairly easy or completely reliant on mathematical tricks that few people will get. Unfortunately, as should be clear from the grades, most questions are of the latter type, and he will not change that.
Mark Shayman
soulelite 09/30/2016
Pretty good professor overall. Homeworks were very reasonable and he was very clear on what to expect on exams. Only downside is that his lectures will put you to sleep, although any professor teaching 324 might do the same.
Eyad Abed
Anonymous 08/18/2015
Helpful professor who will do all he can to help you learn and succeed. Once me and another student met him in the hallway before an exam. We asked if he could give extra help but he was on the way to have a late lunch. So he invited us to join him, drove us to a restaurant, paid for our lunch, and helped us with problems and continued in his office after we got back. He is a good teacher and cares about his students. Highly recommended for undergrad courses in systems and probability (322, 324, 460,...)
Anthony Ephremides
Anonymous 01/30/2015
Terrible professor. Does not know how to teach at all. Everyone does poorly on his exams. Avoid Ephremides at all costs.
Steven Marcus
Expecting an A
taqtaq 05/23/2014
He is by far the smartest, most helpful and interesting professor I've had at UMD. His exams are tough but fair. He has homework available online along with the solutions and the exams are based on material covered on homework. I took him for 322 and 324 and he was a wonderful teacher. Plenty of office hours, and his office hours are actually fun. Definitely take him.
Steven Marcus
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 05/15/2014
Marcus is a very good professor that sets up the class for us to do well. He posts the homework and solutions at the same time so you get immediate feedback, which is nice because the homework problems would have been impossible without the solutions. But don't just blindly copy from the homework solutions, because you don't learn the material. He explains the material pretty well and VERY responsive to student feedback. He is one of the nicest and most dedicated professors when it comes to teaching. Exams aren't easy but aren't too terribly difficult if you work MIT sample exams. The grade distribution was scattered all over the place with averages in the 50's-60s. He tends to throw one or two problems from the homework or recitations. The exams are “doable” but sometimes they are long for the time given. I feel like they were hard to prepare for but just work a ton of problems to the point where you can approach a problem without really thinking how to do it. You really need to put in the time to do well. He is definitely one of the better professors in the ECE department, but you need to take advantage of the resources he provides/suggests to do well. Just don't make the mistake that just because he's very nice and responsive to student concerns means mean he will curve a lot; he doesn't
Armand Makowski
Anonymous 12/13/2013
Makowski is a snooze fest. Yet for some reason this dude does not allow a single phone out otherwise you will be personally confronted about it. If you whisper at the beginning of the semester, he will never let you forget about it. So let's recap: he makes us sit with our eyes glued on him for an entire hour and way too many minutes while he's up there being boring. Then, he explains the information in a really complicated manner and throws in new variables that no one has ever seen before and no one actually needs to ever see, so we are more confused than ever. This is the one class I can say that not attending lectures may have actually helped on the exam, and my friends' exam grades proved this point. I will give him kudos for understanding this material probably better than he knows his wife and children. He just thinks about what he wants to talk about and the material appears for him, it's pretty amazing. He unfortunately expects that out of his students. He also expects us to read the chapters before going to class. My recommendation: don't go to class. I am glad that by attending class I learned that my 13 years of Hebrew School taught me nothing because I had no idea how to say zero in Hebrew. My temple really failed me on that, just to add on to the failure I already feel every day thinking about this class. If you somehow find yourself with him as a Professor, he claims to not curve the class. You do get one formula sheet on the exams, but they won't help. Talking to him may help if you think you will fail, but do not expect an A unless you are one of those naturally gifted types.
Armand Makowski
Expecting a C-
Anonymous 12/11/2013
I have used ourumd.com for many years, as a lurker, mostly. I have never felt the need to review professors, because most of them at UMD are not noteworthy, in my opinion (not to say there aren't GOOD professors, just none that motivated me to write a review). Until I had Makowski. You see, even the shitty teachers are tolerable. Kruskal made algorithms the biggest pain-in-the-ass topic I'd ever taken before, but I got a B. Why? The class was still tolerable and DO-ABLE. But the same cannot be said of Makowski; he is on an entirely different level of shitty. A level of shitty that is politely cruel, convoluted, and irrelevant. The worst part about all of these things is that you don't realize this during the class. For most of the class, it just seems like you're not studying hard enough. It just seems like the hours of reading and rereading the book and meticulously going through every homework step-by-step, isn't enough. You've been studying for hours a day every day for seven days and you walk into that exam and it's as if you didn't study ONE MINUTE. IT'S AS IF YOU DIDN'T EVEN STUDY FOR THE RIGHT CLASS. The level of math required for Makowski's exams goes beyond the prerequisite calc 2 level of math necessary for ENEE324. This is saddening to me, because I went the entire semester thinking I didn't study enough or didn't try hard enough, when the truth was that I didn't have the prerequisite bachelor's degree in math necessary for probability with Makowski. Probability with Makowski was a time in my life where I questioned the following things: - my major - my intelligence - my happiness - my ability to do anything If you have a minor in math or are double majoring in math, then this class should be a fun exercise of your skills. Otherwise, stay clear of Makowski if you value your sanity, happiness, and GPA. On the bright-side, he's a very nice guy, and genuinely enthusiastic about probability. This is actually refreshing, but significantly overshadowed by all the negative shit. This class is the reason I started going to the counseling center on a weekly basis.
Anthony Ephremides
Expecting a B
Anonymous 12/26/2012
Terrible teacher. Lectures are boring and does a poor job of explaining the material. Tests are straightforward but since he does a poor job explaining, it will be quite hard if you only go by his notes. Homework did not count as part of the grade so all your grade are from his exams. He doesn't seem to curve a lot even though a lot of the class does poorly on his exams so don't take his class if you're aiming for an A. Overall, he seems to teach with the sole purpose of lowering your GPA so I highly recommend choosing another professor.
Adrianos Papamarcou
Expecting an A
Anonymous 05/21/2012
Great professor. Had him for both 324 and 241. He can be a bit verbose (tends to speak like a textbook) but always precise, which can be very useful for simpler topics but confusing for more complex ones. He has a very fair grading scheme based on point values, which is nice since you know what you need to get going into the final. He is a very organized teacher, and studying for this class is not difficult due to his lecture notes and provided solutions. The only downside: if you don't understand how to do certain problems, his solutions can be hard to understand since he skips many steps, so they cannot be relied upon exclusively. Overall, highly recommended as long as you are able to keep up with material as he presents it in class. I wish I had looked at notes for lectures beforehand, as that would have helped immensely.
Adrianos Papamarcou
Expecting an A
Anonymous 04/08/2010
i had papamarcou for 241 and 324.. while he is a good enough teacher, and i think that he genuinely cares about students and how they do, i really really REALLY hate the subject matter for both 241 and 324. not papamarcou's fault, but maybe it biases my review a little. papamarcou teaches like he is reading a book so it takes a good bit to get used to the way he describes things. ive done a lot better in 324 than i did in 241 i think because of that. either way, i think he is a little overrated. he might be better than the alternative, but he is a very very difficult professor. the workload that he gives you is a little unreasonable i think, but i suppose that his grading scheme accounts for that a little.
Ramalingam Chellappa
Expecting a B
sithcon 12/17/2009
This guy is serious. My gripe with him is that he is not a great teacher, but aside from that, his workload and exams will test the thoroughness of your understanding of the material and really make you push your limits. I got a B because I didn't really do too much for the class, but to get an A you need to be exemplary. It's good, imo, it forces you to become a more analytical thinker and challenges you to rise above your comfort zone. BS'ing homeworks and studying the day before the exam is not going to fly here. I would, honestly, highly recommend this professor, but BE READY FOR SOME WORK!!!
Ramalingam Chellappa
Expecting an AB
Anonymous 03/01/2009
This is just a horrible teacher but not a bad guy deal. He rushes through the material, never really takes any questions, and doesn't ever really involve the class. It's basically him just rushing through his lecture, in which he asks questions and answers them himself (though the questions really shouldn't be rhetorical). One blessing is that he lets you drop your lowest test grade, and the TAs are really helpful. He also lets you use a cheat sheet on the exam, but this is pretty worthless because every probability problem is different, and unless you get lucky enough to put an exact problem on your sheet that shows up on the exam, it won't help you at all. I thought the book was reasonably good for this class too, but it only helps so much. From things I've heard from other students in previous semesters, though, our problems were a lot harder than theirs. In brutal honesty, this is a class where you are going to either have to be born with the skill of probability or just do a shit ton of problems (over and above the homework) if you want an A. It's not a bad class, but the professor could definitely do more to involve students.