Reviews for professors for MATH246

Professor Information Review
Adam Telatovich
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 05/27/2019
He honestly goes out of his way to help his students. His exams are straightfoward, and he typically follows directly from the textbook. Definitely would take him again.
Jacky Chong
Anonymous 05/12/2019
Really understands what he is doing. Lots of experience both teaching and being a TA for diffeq. Wish discussions met twice a week
Adam Telatovich
Anonymous 05/12/2019
Straightforward exams, neat handwriting, has unexpected jokes. Consistently updates schedule.
Adam Telatovich
Expecting a B-
Anonymous 04/25/2019
This guy is one of the worst professors I've had at UMD. He is smart to the point that he doesn't understand the difficulty of material. His test are too long (only takes him 20 mins but the must people in class don't finish). His grading is inconsistent between sections (one TA gave quiz retakes) and he doesn't seem like he will curve. I would NOT recommend taking him.
Cara Peters
Anonymous 04/19/2019
Amazing TA. I learned everything in Diff Eq from her in 50 minutes per week because Hamilton is a terrible professor.
Jacky Chong
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 03/04/2019
Actually the only reason I'm surviving diff eq.
Adam Telatovich
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 03/04/2019
Not okay. Can't even hear him in lecture. Writes entire alphabet on blackboard and makes no sense.
Michael Jakobson
Expecting a C-
Anonymous 12/23/2018
Jakobson may be the worst lecturer on campus. His speaking, writing, and teaching style make it nearly impossible to learn anything in his lectures, resulting in less than 10% of the class attending each lecture. My TA was the only reason I learned anything in the class, as his website and provided textbook are a mess to navigate and get information from. The homeworks and quizzes we had did little to build on what we did learn, even when we had an assignment or quiz every week. Avoid at all costs.
Antoine Mellet
Expecting a B-
Anonymous 12/15/2018
Goes through lecture really quickly, some days I was able to keep up and some days I was really lost. Quizzes were a mixed bag; some were ok some were wtf is going on. Exams were really long but graded really leniently as well. Weird curve at the end.
Antoine Mellet
Expecting an A
Anonymous 09/18/2018
Good professor. Agree with the other guy, he tries to cover a lot of material in a short amount of time, so make sure you focus, or else you'll get lost in lecture. His notes are just levermore's notes, so make sure you use Justin's notes (they can be found online). Exams are very fair, nothing trippy.
Kendall Williams
Expecting an A
Anonymous 01/28/2018
Great lecturer, explains topics in a casual manner. His exams are hard but fair.
Jacky Chong
Expecting a C
Anonymous 12/13/2017
he's a kind guy
Antoine Mellet
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 11/30/2017
Mellet is a good professor and the exams are very fair in comparison to other professors, especially Levermore. However, his lectures do get boring and he likes to cover a lot of material in a short amount of time. Also, his notes are just Levermore's, so make sure you use Justin Wyss-Gallifent's notes instead. If I had to take MATH246 again, I would gladly retake him.
Justin Wyss-Gallifent
Expecting an A
soulelite 08/25/2016
Best Math professor I've ever had at UMD, hands down. If this guy is available for any Math course that you are taking, ENROLL FOR JUSTIN'S CLASS. You will definitely not regret it. He teaches in such a clear and precise manner, and he is also a very nice guy that is willing to help you after class. He genuinely loves to teach to students, and it really shows.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A
Anonymous 04/11/2016
Make sure you practice with the old exams. If you do, and can understand the online notes, don't bother going to class. Seriously, don't waste your time. Grab yourself a good study group and you'll do fine.
Casey Cremins
Anonymous 12/18/2015
Casey was a pretty bad teacher. When I signed up for MATH246, I had Mellet but they did a professor switch and I ended up with Casey. Going to lecture was pretty pointless because there were the online notes for you to reference, and what he taught didn't always follow the notes online. When we got the study guide for the final (written by Levermore, the course chair) we realized we were at the disadvantage because methods Casey taught us were either slower and more steps than other classes learned, or simply we never learned the material on the review which was then on the final. When asked about a curve he laughed and said maybe 1%. There was no curve for my class. A lot of the learning I had to do was independent and through the online homework because what he taught in class was not all that helpful. He also took a while to get started. There were times at the end of the semester where he took half the class to prepare and talk about the final, but there were still things we had to learn up until the last class before the final. Overall I was pretty disappointed with Casey. I don't know if Levermore would have been better because I heard his tests were harder, but we didn't get a curve - even with test #2's average being a 60%.
Charles Levermore
apaskal 10/21/2015
Pros: Very intelligent, clearly knows what he is talking about, seems really nice and friendly, and doesn't give you busywork (except for Matlab, which sucks, but that isn't on him. His grading policy is also specifically designed to give you as fair a grade as possible, and to not screw you if you mess up occasionally. His website is also a tremendous resource. I personally didn't find his notes too helpful, but many did, and his online exams and quizzes are incredibly valuable. Cons: His intelligence gets in the way of his teaching, and he makes things that should be easy in application seem very complicated. I would often read through his notes trying to understand what the heck was going on, then watch a youtube video on it and understand it very clearly, and think "why didn't he just say that?". He understands things on a different level than most students, and that is the level he teaches on, because that is how his mind works. Pure mathematics is not a strength of mine, so this caused me difficulties. He also does cover a lot more material than other people do in general for diff eq, so this makes it harder to find supplementary resources on it. This inability to lecture or explain things clearly has caused big problems for me and many people I know. Synopsis: if you have an easy schedule or were really good at calc2 and calc3, then take him, because you'll get the highest grade from him. Just be prepared to teach yourself, because odds are you'll have a hard time learning from him. If you thought those classes were hard, or you are taking a heavy class load (i'm taking 19 right now and i'm slowly but surely drowning), take someone else who's a better lecturer, or put diff eq off until you have the time to dedicate to it, because, especially with him, it's a ton to digest and master.
Michael Jakobson
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/17/2014
Firstly I gotta say that before taking DFQ I knew nothing about this course, and Dr. Jakobson just screwed it up even more severer. I never absented but all I could do in his class this whole semester is merely sitting, napping and playing my cell phone. I totally got no idea about what he was talking about. Thanks for my lovely TA I didn't screw up whole things at the end before finals. So 4 stars for TA, 1 star for Dr. Jakobson(for his hard work awww). DON'T TAKE HIS CLASS UNLESS YOU GOT BALLS IN MATH
Matei Machedon
Expecting a B
Anonymous 12/04/2014
Machedon is a decent teacher. He tends to drone on and is extremely vague in his explanations in class. I don't feel like I gain very much from going to lecture. That being said, his expectations are very reasonable. His tests are fair, as are the quizzes. You can learn it all from the internet and by doing the problems from the textbook before the tests. He puts a relatively small emphasis on matlab, which I appreciate because I've never really been taught matlab and feel like i have no idea how to use the software. I'd suggest you take matlab if you want to put minimal effort into this class and you don't expect to gain much of an understanding of the material out of the experience.
Matei Machedon
Expecting a B
cblumenf 11/05/2014
Machedon's lectures are boring and his accent and handwriting can be hard to understand at times. The tests were pretty difficult and the textbook was hard to understand and in my opinion focused too much on derivations rather than how to get solutions to problems. He does curve the class about 10% which is helpful.
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A-
parade 07/31/2014
Overall, not a great lecturer, he goes through the material quite fast and is not great at explaining things. Using the online notes by Levermore supplemented with Paul's notes plus the occasional patrickJMT/Khanacademy youtube video was enough to get me through most of the material. I also had a fantastic TA (Jacky Chong), definitely take him if available, he's kind of eccentric but really knows his stuff! His tests are quite fair not easy but not impossible either.
Matei Machedon
Expecting a B
Anonymous 05/28/2014
Taking Diff Eq with Machedon, I only went to class for his assessments (3 quizzes, each a week before each of the 3 midterms), and instead of going to class taught myself from the online textbook. Before each assessment, he sends out an email reminding you about it, which sections it covers, and usually a few hints about its content. They were all fairly straightforward, though the midterm with LaPlace was bad, an average of 59, the other two exams had B averages. He curves significantly at the end, 10% for me. The matlab was not bad, and only was on one exam, unlike some other Diff Eq teachers. Paul's Online Notes are great for when the textbook is too wordy.
Maria Cameron
Expecting a B
Anonymous 04/25/2014
Cameron was the worst teacher I've ever had. It was so hard to understand her during lecture since she had a heavy accent and didn't really explain the things she wrote on the board. I stopped going to Tuesday lectures and only came to the other lecture because she had weekly quizzes on this day. I had to learn everything from discussion, but 50 minutes a week is not enough to cover all the material taught in Diff Eq. Therefore, I had to teach myself a lot of the material, which is really hard considering the fact that quizzes were every week, and I had other things to do. She also assigned a LOT of Matlab projects, which were very difficult considering a lot of people had no prior experience with it. I actually wish I didn't look at the ourumd grade curve for Cameron so I could've taken a teacher that explains the material better. If you're taking Diff Eq, I recommend NOT taking Cameron. You won't learn anything in lecture and the weekly quizzes will wear down your grade unless you're willing to put in a lot of effort outside of class.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/21/2013
Great Professor, hands down the best option for diff eq. Very Nice person who is very dedicated and wants his students to succeed (Not many professors will hold a 2 hour review on a Sunday before an exam). He's average at lecturing and sometimes goes a little too fast, but he is very helpful at office hours and posts the notes online. His website is AMAZING and you can find old exams as well as class notes on his webpage as well, which is extremely helpful. Tests are very fair, yet there are still idiots out there who don't study and do his sample problems/old exams and complain about the difficulty of the exams. He also has a nice "bomb's away policy" and your quizzes get bumped up if you have a higher exam grade. The final was extremely easy, and I'd say Levermore prepared us well for it. The only negative thing I'd say about this class were the matlab's which were a pain in the ass.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A
joebiden 12/17/2013
amazing online notes (no need to attend lectures). fair grading scale. Easy tests/quizzes that are the same as past semesters.
Michael Jakobson
Expecting a B
grumble 12/17/2013
If you're good at self-teaching, this professor is the one for you. I'll just go ahead and say it outright; he's not a good teacher in any sense of the phrase. Most of the notes that were useful when the exams came around came from my discussion sections, although the TA wasn't superb either. The problems and concepts aren't difficult or complicated at all; they're just incredibly numerous and Jakobson doesn't do a very good job in explaining them. If you're preparing yourself to take this class, understand that either you'll: a) be on the same page as him as few of the students were, or b) be pretty lost a lot of the time and will be engaging yourself heavily in the textbook. While he might be hard to understand, it certainly helps to read ahead and study the textbook prior to the lectures because you'll actually understand what's going on. However, I will say that his exams and quizzes are very fair. Simply teach yourself the rather basic concepts, do the suggested problems, and you'll probably be okay. Of 6 MATLABs, he drops the lowest grade for a total of 100 points and out of 150 earnable quiz points, he only accepts 100 in the final grade and he never really explained how that part works. 3 midterms are 100 points each and the final is worth 200.
Maria Cameron
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/11/2013
I seriously do not understand why everyone hates her so much. I mean, I can see why her teaching style (which involved rigorous theoretical proofs and only very complex examples) doesn't work for some people--especially those who aren't math majors--but this backlash is a tad strong. She has an accent. It's pretty darn understandable. If you can't deal with an accent, go elsewhere. Otherwise, it's not a big deal and it shouldn't affect your understanding of the material. If you're used to either writing down nothing or writing everything the professor writes, you need to reconsider. The material is complex enough that you can't get away with paying no attention (or not going to lecture because they don't like it). She also will do entire proofs which are not necessary for applying the concepts, but may help your understanding or come in handy in later proof-based classes. If you're smart, you'll know when to stop taking notes (around the time imaginary numbers show up) and just try to absorb it. The quizzes were quite difficult and I do think she should have lightened up on them a bit once the averages dropped significantly). The Matlabs were pretty hard, but such is the nature of Matlab for those who aren't fluent in it. I think they should be removed from the course entirely, but I don't think that's her decision. The exams were entirely fair. Nothing was unexpected. If you knew what you were doing, you would get a good grade. Sure, the averages were low, but getting that just means that what's considered good has shifted. It doesn't feel great to have an 85 and not know what is going to happen to your grade, but now I can tell you that an 85 is at least a solid A. The TAs were absolutely wonderful and complemented her theoretical style by giving step-by-step instructions. If you're into theoretical math and proofs, go ahead and take Cameron. You're going to have the stress of a low grade throughout the class, but know that it will be improved by a curve at the end. If you do well on the midterms or the final, you're golden.
Maria Cameron
Anonymous 10/24/2013
They need to fire her. First of all she has a thick russian accent. Second the online book that levermore made is full of errors so when we want to check a solution to see if we got the right answer on the homework, literally half the time the solution is wrong. Learning nothing from lecture and not being able to trust the book is not a good way to learn diffiQ and I dont know why they think this method of teaching is acceptable. If we are paying all this money for college they should not have such low standards.
Maria Cameron
Anonymous 06/10/2013
There were several issues with this class. The major ones: Time management. The first chapters were covered in 2-3 weeks, the last chapters were covered one per week (or more, if you include discussion). I imagine this will improve in future classes. The MATLAB assignments. This was barely covered in class and the book less than helpful. On one hand, they were graded EXTREMELY leniently. On the other hand, I'm pretty sure they did not in the least improve my MATLAB skills. She has an accent. Not much to say other than it's there. The pros: Examples. This professor did more step by step example problems than any other professor I have ever had. Everywhere around me people *****ed and moaned when a problem took two pages to write. But now I'm reading your reviews, and apparently skipping steps (after she had done several of one type of problem) is bad too? She is amazing in office hours. I felt like an idiot struggling with problems at home. When I went to see her, she explained them to me in five minutes. Overall the class consisted of tests, weekly quizzes based on hw problems (hw is not graded), and MATLAB projects (which in my section received full mark for submission). I went to lecture every day, took notes, did homework and studied for tests, and I got a B+. I put in a decent effort, a solid effort would have gotten me an A. As a side note - if any engineering student in Cameron's class thought she has bad handwriting - you are in for a rude awakening. Engineering professors are second only to doctors in bad penmanship.
Maria Cameron
Expecting an A
Anonymous 05/29/2013
I feel bad for the lady looking at all of these reviews, she was so nice to everyone. I wish she had more command over the classroom, it was a very noisy lecture. Everyone is giving terrible reviews because they couldn't keep up with her lecture. She structured her class badly because her lecture was always at least a section ahead of the homework. I think if people kept up they would have found that she was a decent lecturer. I couldn't keep up, so I just learned from Levermore's notes that are on his website. I did a little above the class average on everything, but absolutely crushed the final, so she just gave me an A in the class. She ended up grading the last 3 matlabs for completion, so there's that. Overall, not the end of the world if you take her.
Maria Cameron
Expecting a C
Anonymous 05/17/2013
She is just terrible. I remember the first day of class a substitute came in and taught for us and I thought to myself diff eq ain't bad as all of my friends and advisor had told me. The following week when Cameron finally showed up I knew the moment she opened her mouth that I couldn't understand what she was saying. Her handwriting is so atrocious and she tends to skip steps to cut off time but leaves us confused. Anytime someone asks a question she answers in a way no one can decipher. After a week of this nonsense I just skipped lecture and learned off the book. The quizzes were similar to our homework at first but then she drifted off to just things she made up. I went to scoring an average of 8/10 at first to around 3/10 by the end of the semester. It wasn't just me as I saw my friend and fellow classmates go down this way. Matlab was too hard for this class. The matlab questions for this class requires you to know a large amount of knowledge about matlab beforehand. I have only been acquainted with the copy and paste method I have learned in MATH241. If you do the matlab projects alone, you are gonna have a bad time. The tests that she give out are not hard and I even found out the test comes from another professor. There is matlab involved and she does not cover well most of the questions that are on the tests. Then again, she doesn't cover most things well. The TA for this class will make or break your experience. Luckily, I had Hana Ueda who dissected the topics Cameron will talk about for the following lecture into steps to solve. The math discussion basically became my lecture time. Other than the book and the internet, I learned diff eq from my TA. For anyone that is looking into taking this class, take my advice. Read the book, find an online homework help source, attend all the discussions if your TA is good, skip all lecture except the last 20 minutes on thursday since she gives out quizzes at the end of class, and form a matlab group! If you do all of the steps you will definitely get at least a C like I did. Lecture is definitely a waste of time when you can actually learn Diff Eq off the book.
Maria Cameron
Expecting a B
Anonymous 05/15/2013
Here is MY problem with this professor. I went to class, read the book, beat the curve on nearly all the quizzes and all but one test (the one test i barely missed the curve), and I still got a C in the class. I can't argue that my raw grade in the class was a literal 70%, because thats what it was from a strict (points earned)/(points possible) standpoint. Lets first establish that diff eq is a hard class, there's no two ways about that (not sure what the person below me is talking about...). Due to this fact, I expected to come out with a B, because teachers typically curve the class by giving the majority of the students C+ or B-. However..... If I beat the curve on most assignments and got a C (so lets say that pulls me from 70% to 75%) what happned to the rest of the class? Did you SERIOUSLY pass half of the class and fail the other half? I personally thought she was bad at lecturing, and if she didn't put you to sleep then she just confused the daylights out of you. Questions usually went unaddressed, and even when she did finally see someone with their hand up she always managed to make everyones comprehension worse. She has a thick (Russian I believe?) accent and its hard to understand her sometimes, her handwriting isn't great. I even went to her office hours a couple times, and just stopped going because she was never of any help. So.... if for scheduling reasons, or some other circumstances you are forced to take this professor (I feel for you, by the way) then here's what I believe helped me survive and things I probably could have done better : 1) Whenever she gives out quizzes, they are usually based on homework. If you are doing homework and think "oh this problem is insane, she wouldn't give us that" then you've just found the quiz question. 2)The TA's are remarkable. They will be your only lifeboat in this class, and typically you'll only get once a week discussion where they are forced to cover excessive amounts of material in a short amount of time, but they are good at it and will get it done. Go to discussion and TA office hours for questions, it is vital to your survival. Don't take her. Please. It's GPA poison. I learned all the material, scored above average, and I still got screwed. I'm more in shock that she did this as opposed to upset
Maria Cameron
Expecting a B
Anonymous 05/14/2013
Cameron did a terrible job of managing this class. I understand that this is the first time she has taught this course, but she could have done a much better job on many levels. She spent the majority of the semester going over the first three chapters (which contain the easiest material covered in the course) and did the last three chapters in the last 3-4 weeks of the semester. My roommate took a different professor for this class and he was having tests on material that our class hadn't even covered yet in lecture. Considering the fact that our class was learning the last chapter less that a week before the final really put our class at a disadvantage compared to the other sections. Her classroom lectures mostly consisted of copying the lectures that Prof. Levermore posted online. The tests and quizzes were also very similar to the ones posted on Levermore's site. She even assigned the exact Matlab projects that he posted. If you are severely unfortunate and get stuck with Cameron as a teacher, just google 'umd math246 levermore' to find all of Levermore's material. Besides the fact that she sounds like the Count from Sesame Street, her teaching style is awful. Even if you focus really hard to understand what she is saying, it is impossible to keep up with her lecture. She consistently skips essential steps in problems that makes it extremely difficult for anybody to understand how the problems are being done. For example: When learning about linear systems, she would routinely skip the steps when you have to multiply matrices together or do other matrix related functions. So unless you have taken linear algebra you would have no idea how she got the answer. Class attendance was a joke. After the first two weeks a large majority of people stopped going to class with an exception to the weekly quizzes, with the averages being around 40-50%. Take another MATH246 teacher. If this is not an option for you, skip class and use your time to teach yourself this course, because it will help you more than actually going her lectures.
Maria Cameron
Expecting an A-
UMDStudent2 05/12/2013
She is really bad at lecturing. Lectures are rarely helpful, so you will be learning most of the material in discussion and on your own. Her weekly quizzes are moderately difficult. They are not impossible but are difficult given that you only have 10 minutes to complete them at the end of class. Her exams were reasonable, and she does curve them (unfortunately this includes curving DOWN). Overall, I would NOT recommend this professor. If you have to choose between her and Lipsman, I would go with Lipsman because he is the better lecturer.
Maria Cameron
Expecting an A
Anonymous 05/09/2013
I wish I could give this teacher negative stars. When I say I expect an A, I mean I taught my self everything and understand all the material, and can do all the book problems, but the quizzes are literally impossible. She picks the most ridiculous questions from each chapter and adds another part that makes it 10 times as hard. Not only are the quizzes impossible, but she is a terrible professor. I stopped going to class after the first couple weeks, except to take the quizzes because she writes things on he board that make 0 sense, doesn't explain them, and then erases them. When she works out problems she skips 3 steps at a time and says "hence" like we are all supposed to know the methods before going to class and shes reviewing it to us. She barely speaks English and it took her more then half the semester just to tell the class a proper grade distribution and she doesn't grade the Matlabs at all so i have no idea if all the work i put in is necessary. The 50 percent A's is such bull shit, I know no one with above a 75% in this class. I hope she gets fired. With that being said Dif Eq is probably the easiest of all math classes so if you can teach yourself and don't mind ridiculous quizzes then she is the professor for you.
Maria Cameron
Expecting a B
Anonymous 05/08/2013
By far the worst teacher I have ever had. Her Syllabus was constantly changed 2 weeks into the class because she had forgotten to take account for things. Her handwriting is god awful and the notations she uses confuse people to no end. I know this is her first time teaching this course but there is no excuse for the confusion her course brought me. I agree with the person who says that they regret taking her and would never reccomend her for any class.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 01/28/2013
It's true that He covers more than other professors, but it's worth to learn then. Because the book may often confuse me. He has the nicest online note. Most people complain that the course is hard, but they are the one who does not do his practice exam and former exams that he post online the exam is almost identical to the previous exams. Sometimes, I fell he goes too fast during the lecture, but overall he is a good math246 professor!
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A
kingpinchimp 01/24/2013
I loved taking DiffEQ with Machedon. He is really friendly (the friendliest professor I've had). While the material can sometimes be unclear during lecture, he is approachable and you can clear up the issues you have. Some of the differences in reviews may have been the different TA's that we had. I had Summer as my TA and she was fantastic, and always explained everything clearly that Dr. Machedon may have been unclear on. Those with the other TA may not have had that and thus were unable to clarify a few things. As far as tests go, they are on a curve and fair for the most part. The only issue is the one trick question he likes to put on each test. If you get lucky its only worth a few points, but on one for us it was worth 20/100 and very few people actually knew what to do.
Matei Machedon
Expecting a B-
Anonymous 12/21/2012
Dr.Machedon isn't the best teacher, but he makes up for it. His grade curve for the class is awesome! Automatically, above a 50% is a C- . Then the rest of the grades are determined based on how well the rest of the class did. Averages were real low for first 2 tests, but the 3rd test was ridiculously easy. But by choosing to take Machedon, prepared to get demolished on the final because the other teacher makes up the majority of the test. As a person, Machedon is probably the nicest math teacher, in which he is always willing to help you and clarify things. So if you don't understand somethin, just stop by his office during office hours and you'll be good.
Matei Machedon
Expecting a B
Anonymous 12/13/2012
This review is more about Machedon's class than his teaching. I never really went to lecture so I can't say whether or not he was good. But he drops 5 out of 15 hwk. We had three exams and one was extremely easy, the other two were fine and definitely doable. I would advise taking his class if you usually don't go to lecture because you can teach yourself from the book and still get a good grade in this course.
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/03/2012
I have to agree with the review below this one. I am a good student who is pretty good at math (Usually get A's) but as a teacher Machedon is not very helpful. He is a nice guy, but he doesn't really teach important concepts.. he gets more caught up on the details of the material. I have never really intentionally skipped a class before this one, but reading the dense book was more helpful than attending lecture. And that says something especially for a math textbook. I wouldn't recommend him as a professor for this class :/
Matei Machedon
Anonymous 11/06/2012
Machedon is a really nice man, and he seems to genuinely care about his students, but he is not a great teacher. His handwriting is difficult to read and his lectures are not very well-organized. He runs through lessons very quickly, and I personally find it difficult learning Diff Eq from him. I have watched Khan Academy videos and have had to read sections in the textbook (which is mediocre) repeatedly just to catch up to him. I'm also really confused by the comments about his tests being really easy. I guess he's changed his test format since then, because his tests are so ridiculously and unnecessariy complicated. They're long for a 50-minute time period, and the questions are far from direct. I've done all the homeworks and recommended practice problems and I feel like they don't help me with the tests at all. For the first exam, the average was around a 67/100. He does curve the tests, but if you score under a 50, you're out of luck. This seems like a fair grading system at first, until you realize how much the TA's don't like giving out partial credit.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A
Anonymous 09/25/2012
I liked Levermore. I always felt like he was on the students side by always trying to make things clear in class. As people have mentioned his website is a great resource. There are old quizzes and exams to study from which are extremely helpful. His notes are also quite helpful. A lot of the time though I usually did not understand the theory that he explained before he went into examples which there are plenty of. I usually went to his notes rather than the textbook which is an okay secondary resource. His lectures were okay. I usually felt pretty confused. He is obviously a really smart guy but sometimes his explanations were not the greatest. I also felt like I memorized a lot methods rather than understanding differential equations but who cares.
Charles Levermore
Anonymous 05/11/2012
Levermore THE GOOD: Levermore is a good professor. He really limits the proofs he does on the class, which is good for engineering students. He is also very dedicated to teaching diffeq. His website is really well designed. It’s obvious he spent a lot of time on his class notes and sample problems for exams (he uses the same ones every year). Exams questions were predictable since he uses a similar format every year. THE BAD: Personally, I found differential equations difficult. This is a class where the curve can work against you if you make lots of careless mistakes. Some of his “shortcut” methods (especially partial fractions and linear algebra stuff) are somewhat cryptic and hard to understand. OVERALL: Good professor, hard exams. If you are looking for an easier A, then take someone else.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A-
Anonymous 04/06/2012
I have not taken the final yet so I can't fully describe how well he prepared us. But with that in mind I have to say Levermore is a really good teacher. He seems to understand that most of the people in the class didn't really care about proofs so he seemed to do just enough for this to still qualify as a math class and then spent most of the class doing examples which ultimately helped me a lot. And, as a bonus, it was really easy for me to picture him as a super villain who spends his nights punishing students who don't know math. This served as a great incentive to learn diff eq.
Michael Jakobson
Expecting a B+
TerpGuy 01/15/2012
The review for Jakobson was misleading. He is portrayed as a really horrible professor but in retrospective, he was not bad mostly because his exams and quizzes were straightforward. Although some matlab homeworks were pain, they were doable since we were allowed to work in a group of 3. We only had about 5 matlab projects. Also, he gave out 5 extra credit points for each matlab projects if the presentation of the assignment was pretty. However, his lecture notes are very messy and I had to mostly self teach myself or rely on my TAs. Speaking of TAs, I got cheated out of an A because my TA never revealed to us that we could get extra credit points for matlab assignments until around the time before 3rd assignment was due. If you do the suggested book problems, you should do well on his exams. I would recommend taking him if you do not wanna be bothered by huge amounts of matlab assignments and terribly difficult exams.
Michael Jakobson
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/27/2011
Because of all the low reviews here, I didn't have very high expectations for Jakobson going in. As it turned out, Jakobson was much better than his reviews give him credit for. He usually teaches much better than the book does and always says what exactly is expected of you for each type of problem on a test. The book is good for the easier topics (integrating factors, exact equations) but becomes pretty useless later on in the course. At this point, you definitely want to go to lecture and he will make things pretty simple. He doesn't really try to trick you on tests or quizzes. If you can do the majority of the problems in the suggested homework, the tests are simple. He never really gave any integrals that were too tricky to evaluate. He ended up dropping our lowest quiz grade, and our lowest test was only weighted as half of a test. Gives pretty good partial credit, and is very organized. Homework problems are suggested and not graded. Matlab can be very time-consuming and annoying because you have to work in a group of 3, so I would recommend joining a discussion section with a few friends who you know are reliable, because it is a real hassle if you get stuck with random people who don't know what they're doing. Overall, I would definitely recommend Dr. Jakobson.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A
Anonymous 12/24/2011
Levermore taught us fairly well, but it seems like he taught us more how to do the problems in the class and less how to do differential equations in general. It doesn't seem like there are a whole lot of good diff eq professors in general, but I would recommend Levermore over others.
Michael Jakobson
Expecting a C
TinyOne 12/21/2011
It's not very hard to do well with this professor if you stay on top of your homework. I barely did homework and I got a C in the class. If you go to the lecture and discussion right before an exam, hints are dropped like bombs about the problems that will be on it. Even without the hints you get, the problems are pretty straightforward. The final was made up of easy problems, it was just long. Also, this professor dropped half of the the score of the worst exam and he gave extra credit on the Matlab projects. And while he wasn't the best lecturer, he certainly wasn't the worst.
Michael Jakobson
Anonymous 12/16/2011
He is not the teacher to teach the materials however he is not a harsh professor. He makes adjustments in the class to help students. His exams are not difficult if you do all the home work and he usually tells you before the exam what is on there. However he doesn't make the final. The final is different from what he does in class. The wording of the questions and the style of questions are different.
Michael Jakobson
Expecting a C
Anonymous 12/14/2011
His lectures are 100% a waste of time. He is very difficult to understand and he barely erases the chalkboard so it's difficult to read his notes. The only time his lectures made sense were when I studied the topic before class, and even then I got lost about 20 minutes along. That being said, his exams and quizzes are generally a lot easier than some of the other instructors. Compared to Balan (the other option this semester) the exams were easy. If you can afford the time, wait to take DiffEQ when there is a decent professor teaching it. The subject is so boring that a terrible teacher makes me lose interest in studying for the class at all.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A
Anonymous 05/25/2011
Levermore is a pro at teaching differential equations. He really knows who the class is made of - primarily scientists and engineers, not mathematicians. His online notes are then particularly useful because he takes the time to write out general formulas that can actually be applied to real-world problems. I am saving his notes for life.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A
vnsach 05/22/2011
Great professor and nice guy. He is very reasonable with grades as his policies suggest. Drops a quiz and matlab, replaces quiz grades if you do well on the test and curves generously if you perform well on the final. I probably had around an 85 going into the final but he curved me up to an A since I did well on the final. Most importantly, his website is amazing. I literally went to class for 10 minutes a week just so I could take my quiz and learned everything off class notes and previous quizzes/tests. If you read his online notes intently, you will get an A in the class. He is better than the other teachers from what I have heard and a great choice for differential equations.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A
Anonymous 05/20/2011
Lecture: Levermore was not the greatest lecturer, but from what my friends experienced in other 246 classes he is probably your best bet. Definitely helps to be a math major and know many different math terms and symbols. Handwriting was subpar. You really only need to go to lecture for the last three weeks or so because that is when he goes over phase portraits and right before the second exam when he goes over spring forces because theses are not on his online notes. (He has great online notes that he posts) Website: Seriously best website ever, take him because of his website. MATLAB: Is difficult I can't really grade him for it though, he just assigns it and we have to figure it out (buy the MATLAB book, it does a pretty good job) Grading: 3 Midterms (100points each) 6 MATLAB's one dropped (20 points each) 11 Quizzes (almost every Tuesday during lecture 10 points each) Final (200 points) He also has some crazy grading systems which you can look up here: http://www-users.math.umd.edu/~lvrmr/2010-2011-S/Classes/MATH246/Quizzes.html Hint: look over the past couple years quizzes to study for each quiz (he keeps the answers posted too). And do the practice tests.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A
Anonymous 05/17/2011
Just finished taking him. Probably the best teacher you could ask for for a class like 246. Very engaging, handwriting sometimes hard to read but bearable. Best part: His amazing website. All pertinent announcements go on there, grades averages and distributions, awesome sample problems, and best of all: Online notes! His online notes are great; they could easily be a substitute for going to class, but keep in mind there is a weekly quiz. Exams aren't difficult at all, just look at old exams and the samples problems and you can easily ace the class.
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A
terp315 07/28/2010
The median grades for the 3 exams in my section: 80/100, 94/100, 98/100. Seriously, they were that easy. Professor Machedon was a very efficient lecturer, so as long as you paid attention in class there was little to no reason not to do well. The final was apparently written by the other professor but I didn't find it that difficult at all. Just review the homeworks and you'll be fine.
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A+
keyoung 06/01/2010
I found Machedon to be an excellent teacher as well as a great guy. His lectures were clear and very focused. He taught very straight forward, only covering subjects we needed to know and talked about theory only a few times. He was approachable and responded well to students concerns. His hws were helpful and exams were basically hw problems. Try to take a class with him.
Matei Machedon
Expecting a B-
mikhail 05/22/2010
Sooooooo... His exams are easy, nevertheless, final exam will bring you back to earth. So just be prepared. Other than that he is a very good math professor. I Recommend!
Tobias von Petersdorff
Expecting an A
xenonscreams 05/20/2010
He's an excellent professor who really understands the material and is pretty good at teaching it. His exams are extremely fair, and if you study you should do well, although it is easy to make stupid mistakes and lose a lot of credit. Matlab assignments were relatively long, but were graded very kindly and generally helped with everyone's grades. He does have panic attacks, as other people have mentioned. Sometimes they interfere with class or getting an exam passed out on time. He seems to be working on controlling them, as sometimes he will come close to having a panic attack but will breathe deeply and control himself. It seems to help to give him all the answers he asks for and ensure him that everything is OK and readable when he starts to frantically erase.
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A
Anonymous 05/18/2010
His tests are a joke. The only thing is if you make one mistake it could cost you. Final was unfortunately not written by him, so that was a bit rough. However, if you have the option, definitely take Machedon.
Tobias von Petersdorff
aloo1111 05/11/2010
He's a good professor. Study well and earn your grade with him
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A
armantheman 05/09/2010
Diffeq is a joke with him, take it with him.
Tobias von Petersdorff
Anonymous 04/27/2010
The instructor covered the material very well and explained how to do each type of problem however it was distracting to watch the professor have panic attacks in class in middle of a problem. It is unnecessary to erase the whole board because of a small algebra error such as a missed sign. His matlab assignments are very long and since he forgets to post them up I had less than a week to do the matlab and no time to do them over the weekend. I would suggest Von Petersdorff as a math professor since he covers the material well and because his tests are fairly straight forward on material covered in class.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A+
jahs389 03/03/2010
Levermore has no accent and very effectively presents what you need to know - you can't ask for more than that. But, he also has a website with all his old exams and quizzes. He does reviews for exams and the actual exams are nearly identical in format to his practice ones, you can't go wrong if you study. Matlab will take up time but that is just the course not him. Between Levermore and my TA, I managed an A+ which is a pretty big turn around from a D I got when I first took Math246.
Charles Levermore
Expecting a B
Anonymous 01/02/2010
Ok professor, however just like every other math course at UMD, the structure is terrible. His lectures would leave you left in the dust, got most of my help from the TA during office hours. Not impressed with the way this class is set up. Your grade in this class solely depends on what TA you get. They grade all of the quizes and exams. For the last exam, my TA was not given a solution manual and had to make up her own solutions to the exam and then graded my exam. Don't expect to get any partial credit, it's either right or wrong with this class. I'm so glad that I pay so much in tuition to have my TA teach and grade me.
Charles Levermore
Expecting an A
jcosta12 12/11/2009
At first, I hated this guy. However, once you get used to his teaching method and the extensive information he throws at you at once, he is a really good professor. He has his own methods of teaching things (KEY IDENTITY is his method) and it is by far easier than the other methods. He is the best Differential Equations professor UMD has to offer. His exams are EXACTLY like his sample tests he posts on his website with only slight variations. Do those and you'll be fine. Quizes every tuesday sucks, but if you get a higher grade in an exam, he replaces all the quizes leading up to that exam with your exam grade. This is the reason why I got an A in the class.
Charles Levermore
Xin 11/25/2009
Not a great professor. He tries to make class entertaining with his jokes and such, but it doesn't compensate for his lack of teaching ability. Don't even bother going to class unless there is a quiz or an exam, you won't learn anything at all. He just writes a bunch of greek symbols and nasty algorithms. Get past exams and quizzes and study those. Also read the book.
Matei Machedon
Anonymous 11/14/2009
I can't believe how many good reviews there are of this professor! He just down right does not know how to teach. You MUST go to lecture to even try to have a shot at a good grade and it is impossible to get an A. Whoever the other professors are take them, cause they have to be better then Machedon!
Charles Levermore
guru 10/01/2009
I think he was a good professor. Slightly humorous. His class webpage is possibly the best in terms of utility I have seen from a professor. The exam dates, notes, homeworks, and solutions to quizzes, etc are posted in a very organized, clear fashion.
Charles Levermore
jumpboyb 09/12/2009
So-So. His lectures often left you saying "WTF?" He will force you into learning the greek alphabet if you do not know it yet along with drawing some other random symbols. Not too many examples in the lecture however. The homeworks, old quizzes, and practice test will make sure you are ready to get an A or B in the class as the material really isn't hard for the most part. Easier than Calc 2 for sure. Go to his office hours and he does a slightly better job of explaining things to you that he went over in lecture. He is also very approachable and does not have a accent you can't understand
Justin Wyss-Gallifent
Expecting a B
Anonymous 08/04/2009
Justin is a great professor. he doesnt make you learn all of the unnecessary things that the other 246 teachers make you learn. his tests are basic and there is nothing that is on there to try to trick you. they are basically the same as the practice tests he gives, which really help a lot. the final exam was a little bit more difficult because it is a uniform exam and there are things that he did not cover, as far as i know. (i did not go to many classes at the end of the semester) he probably would have curved it, but he had taught the other material so well, our class did better than the classes who covered more material. Overall, if you put any effort into this class, there is no reason to not get an A
Justin Wyss-Gallifent
Expecting a B
highvoltage81 07/09/2009
I had Justin for Diff eq, which on its own is moderately hard. He was different from wolfe who i had the semester prior in that he didnt just write up all the formulas on the board or derive them, he went through step by step to show you the methods you needed to know, and his tests clearly followed his lectures. im taking him again for math403!
Justin Wyss-Gallifent
Expecting an A
cityazndan 05/23/2009
Great class. Exams were like the samples. Screw the MATLAB book...guides were always posted. Excellent professor who broke MATH246 down into the simplest of terms. As long as you do the MATLABs, do well on the exams, and take a decent amount of quizzes, you have the A on lockdown. The final was VERY similar to the ones on testbank.
Charles Levermore
Expecting a C
Anonymous 05/19/2009
He can't teach. He spends 75 minutes writing gibberish on the board that no one can understand. Even the book does a better job of explaining the material than he does. At some point during the semester you realize that you can't learn from him and you might as well skip his class and go to lunch instead.
Charles Levermore
Expecting a B
Anonymous 05/18/2009
I was expecting to get a B in the class but was pleased to find out that I got an A-. Although he isn't the greatest teacher in the world, the only advice i can give is to do his sample questions for his exams and the final. They are EXACTLY like his exams just with different numbers. Also, for any math class, when preparing for a final exam, go to UMD's testbank and do past exams. There was a question that was taken verbatim off last years test. Do his sample questions and past exams and you will have no problem getting at least a B
Charles Levermore
jmartin1 05/18/2009
he was so-so as a professor. I personally found him to be very confusing at times and not very clear. however, the book for the class was awful, and for someone like me who uses textbooks as references, this made the class even harder for me.
Charles Levermore
Expecting a B
Anonymous 05/01/2009
One of the worst professors I have ever had. Rarely uses examples to explain and lectures get confusing with the vast number of symbols and variables he uses. My TA's were excellent and more effectively explained 2 lectures worth of material in 50 minutes that he was able to do. Avoid taking his Math246 class.
Justin Wyss-Gallifent
Expecting a B
kvizzle321 04/28/2009
Justin is a great professor. MATH246 is a very hard class, and the book they give you is not very good at explaining, so lectures are very important when learning the material. He was pretty flexible with missed MATLAB assignments, which were pretty frustrating. Additionally there are weekly quizzes in discussion but he drops a few of them. I missed many lectures and quizzes and still have a chance to get a B. As long as you go to lectures and take all the notes, you will have no problem getting a good grade in Justin's class.
Justin Wyss-Gallifent
Expecting an A
jwong89 04/20/2009
By far the best math professor I've had. If you go to class and write down all the notes he writes on the board, the only time you will open your book is to see what the homework problems are. Lectures are very organized, starts with the theory and then shows a couple of examples. The best thing is that he only teaches what you need to know for the tests and the tests themselves are really easy. He doesn't try to trick you with the tests and the sample exams he gives are very similar to the actual tests. Basically, if you can do the sample exams you will know how to do the entire test. Weekly quizzes are a pain, but he only takes the top ten. MATLAB is similarly a pain, but he posts guides to the MATLAB assignments that are pretty much a step by step guide to the problems. If you can, take Justin for any math class that you have to take.
Justin Wyss-Gallifent
Expecting an A
Anonymous 04/06/2009
You know? I would write an amazing review, but it seems like everything I could have said about him (all good) has already been said multiple times. I just felt like reinforcing the positive ratings anyway.
Matei Machedon
Expecting a B
Anonymous 12/29/2008
Not the best teacher but the material is not that hard. If you read the book you should have no problem grasping the concepts with the help of your TA's, dont expect much help from the professor. Grading is fair, if you get higher than 50%, you get a C. Then the passing grades are divided up
Justin Wyss-Gallifent
Expecting an A
warthog 12/24/2008
I flunked Diff Eq twice, and had to beg for special permission to take it again. I took Justin's 246 one summer, and finally understood everything and got an A. Absolutely wonderful professor, can't recommend highly enough. Also, I just read this comments page after reading Wolfe's. Total opposites, haha.
Charles Levermore
Expecting a B
stanleyj 12/08/2008
He is difficult to understand and tends to strictly teach theory rather than doing examples. Also, his lectures get rather confusing due to the abstract variables, bold letters etc. His tests can be too long vs the time that is given to take them.
Charles Levermore
Anonymous 12/04/2008
His lecture is clear and great! You have to par attention though because sometimes he teaches his own methods which are easier than the stuff in the textbook.
Charles Levermore
Expecting a C
Anonymous 12/01/2008
worst professor ever. he is a genius, thats for sure, but he can not teach at all. i have not taken calc 3 yet which is supposed to make it easier but either way... he teaches class like he is reading from a book, which book, i havent a clue, because it sure isnt the one that is assigned to us. he has his own methods for solving things which are not in the book (or any others for that matter) which are not at all intuitive and effectively take up class time, as they are all useless. (to me at the very least). he rarely does examples to illustrate the concepts that he presents to us, and the examples he does use are not very good and are only of the simplest cases. his hand writing is very difficult to read, and his board is very rarely cleaned making it even harder to read the notes. finally, he refuses to accept any excuse for missing an exam. even if your mom dies, he does not care.
Matei Machedon
Expecting an A
Anonymous 05/19/2008
Even though he has a thick accent and horrible handwriting, go to class and just see what you're supposed to know. The written homework is not graded, but you should do it because it's the best way to prepare for weekly quizzes. The TAs do really good jobs at explaining stuff from lecture but it's not enough. Exams are fair but MATLAB hw was a bit hard.
Tobias von Petersdorff
Expecting an A
gundamwing4132 05/01/2008
Fair exams, good lectures.
Matei Machedon
Anonymous 04/22/2008
Very very confusing when he teaches, but you should go to the classes and try to just get the general flow of what is going on because you have to make it click during discussion because there is a quiz almost every week. he often goes ahead in the book right before tests when it would be better if he just reviewed. he is bearable but if you don't understand make sure you go to your ta and the matlabs for this class are horrible